Grr....the one where I bitch.


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Midlothian » Edinburgh
November 24th 2008
Published: November 24th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well it's a beautiful day here in Edinburgh, and yours truly is hanging out in my favourite pair of MEC shorts and flip flops. I've decided that if I wear my Flames hat, Canadians and Americans will know that it's probably colder back home hence my attire, and everyone else who looks at me funny I couldn't care less. It's probably 12 or 13 degrees out, and not nearly as cold as it could be!

Funny and somewhat frustrating night/morning. I'm in a room with a bunch of girls...now, anyone who's stayed in a hostel might say that's better than a room full of guys. YOU WOULD THINK SO. But they seem to be as inconsiderate of other people as anyone I've ever met before....I swear to god there was a girl last night who decided to completely re-pack her stuff (ALL of it in plastic bags) at 3 am. And she wasn't even leaving today, she's still there!!!

...That and the snoring. My dear christ, the snoring. All of them seem to be afflicted with some sort of condition that turns them to pug dogs after midnight. **I hope it's not contagious** The girl below me especially. I tried to put up with it--for hours. I put in my earplugs. Put the pillow over my head. Switched to my music. Back to the earplugs. It didn't make an ounce of difference. I decided to wake her up or at least get her to roll over. I wish I'd had a poking stick or anvil; NOTHING woke this chick up. She was clearly on some high-octane sedative. Finally, at around 4:30 she probably choked on her hair/spit/pillowcase/tongue/my loathing and shifted position. Blessed silence! So I got to sleep around 5 am.

Up at 9, for I have become a cleaner at the hostel, in exchange for free occupation of a bed. Not so bad, I down about 3 cups of free coffee, plug into my music and off I go.

I come back from cleaning into the kitchen, hoping to eat something before I head out for the day. That would be easier if someone hadn't STOLEN MY FOOD. I'm super upset about it and can feel my blood pressure sky-rocketing as I sit here. An entire jar of precious Nutella, a brand new jar of peanut butter, hummus, butter, cereal....all my staples at the moment GONE. I almost cried. I stood in the kitchen like some sort of lost, hungry puppy. I'm sure that the person who did it was in there, watching me and laughing on the inside.

Momentarily, I get a spark of optimism and decide to just fuck it, leave it all behind in the kitchen and go out anyways. Fine. Up to the showers I go. NO. HOT. WATER. At this, I did shed a tear. A tear made of frustration and self-pity. So now I'm at the library, hungry, dirty and hungry. Did I mention hungry? Oh yes, and just a wee bit angry and tired of hostel life.

I'm sorry to bitch. I know that in the grand scheme of things, the bigger picture, my day so far is nothing. A mere speck in the sandbar of misery. But I did need to get it off my chest, and hopefully I made some of you giggle in the process.

I'm done now, off to run some errands and stop in at a multi-disc clinic run by a girl from New Brunswick, resume and hopefully clean self at the front.

Advertisement



24th November 2008

Euro-Boo!!
AWWWW MUFFIN!!!!!!!!!!!! All I can say is boo and I love you and its over now. I hope you find the food-stealer and give them a good, Canadian, ass-whooping.
25th November 2008

granndma
Loved the Buchanan tartan dress. NOt your style though. Have ordered some Buchanan stuff for Xmas gifts. Handwoven. HOpe you got the job Love, Grandma

Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0396s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb