Pre-Mark; Remembrance Sunday in Edinburgh


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Midlothian » Edinburgh
November 23rd 2008
Published: November 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Photo 1Photo 1Photo 1

A temporary memorial, set up at the Scott Monument on Princes Street.
The Sunday before Mark arrived was Remembrance Sunday here in Scotland. Kind of our equivalent to Remembrance Day on the 11th, it falls on the Sunday before the 11th here. I'd wandered around a couple of days before, taking some picutres and enjoying the seemingly mild autumn weather.

The Sunday itself was bitterly cold, which I always think is suiting. It seems right that you should be shivering while contemplating and remembering the soldiers who did so much more in less favourable conditions. I won't go on and on, I'm sure most know my stand on memorials/military/honour. The ceremony was short, with the army, airforce, Blackwatch and veterans all present. Two minutes of silence at 11:00 am and an almost palpable weight in the air from the people around me. Standing beside me was an older woman whose husband had served in WWII. I never know if I should say something or not in those moments....would a "Thank you" be seen as respectful or bratty?

My pictures are at attempt to capture what I see when I look at something for that first second. I don't know much about light or dark, but some of them look like I do.


Additional photos below
Photos: 83, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Photo 20Photo 20
Photo 20

Then I chanced upon this couple rehearsing just outside one of the art galleries down the street.


24th November 2008

The lone Piper
It's amazing seeing the way other places honour the people that fought for them. The place and the poppies are beautiful. Yet...I'm reminded of your lone piper and how much more moved I was reading about that than this....interesting.

Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0311s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb