Head in the Skye


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Midlothian » Edinburgh
November 16th 2008
Published: November 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Gr. I just typed a whole entry and the comp crashed. So frustrating.

Back from Skye/Highlands tour.

Amazing. Went to some places I'd been before, some I haven't. Watching Mark seeing it all for the first time was the best part.

Highlights:

--we swam (Yes, SWAM) in Loch Ness. Anyone who thinks their Canadian blood is up to this, I challenge you. It is NOVEMBER.

--spent a morning/afternoon on and around the hills and mountains of Skye. Crazy beauty beheld us. Should be illegal.

--hiked around castle ruins, faery glens and slept in what was probably an honestly haunted hostel.

--got pictures of Mark at the Wallace Monument, which he SPRINTED up to. 😊

Aside from a couple of life-learning moments (I've never travelled with anyone), everything was great this weekend. We're back in Edinburgh, about to lay out a game plan for the rest of Mark's time here.





Advertisement



17th November 2008

Skye
Glad to hear that Mark arrived safe and that you two have been up to no good. Travel with someone else can be great, there is more motivation to see things and share the experiences. Hope you two enjoy your time together, looking forward to more photos.
18th November 2008

Hey everyone
Having such a good time here in Scotland and spending time with Sarah is something i've anticipated for months. Her knowledge of the country and extensive preperation for my arrival has made this a very enjoyable experience. I am very grateful to have such a wonderful person in my life. I can assure you all that loch ness was every bit as chilling as any canadian polar bear dive contest i've done. As well, touring the highlands was something I will never forget. Our tour guide was also very knowledgeable, although I can say with absolute confidence that my best tour guide thus far has been Sarah. Thank-you :)
20th November 2008

yeah for Mark!
Loved your mini entry and damned skippy you got the best guide around! I'm deeply impressed with the determination to swim...I remember not being able to wait to jump in the lake as a kid and the near-hypothermia that resulted. Way to make us Canucks proud!

Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0295s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb