Hope


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Midlothian » Edinburgh
November 5th 2008
Published: November 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

10 hours' sleep + Nutella + vat of coffee= a renewed perception.

Let's see how today goes, shall we? I skipped out of cleaning duties today *blush*, but I needed more than 1 hour to get myself ready for this shift. First of all, didn't have shoes, had to go buy those. Let me tell you how infuriating it is to go and purchase things that YOU ALREADY OWN but couldn't carry. I've had to re-outfit myself for this job, but by paying in pounds, which is infinetly more painful than dollars. Quite often, the pound amount is what I'd pay in DOLLARS at home....ah well. The worst of it is, I still can't carry this stuff home, I'm going to have to ditch it at some point. OK I'm done ranting now, this is nothing unique or original, it's one of the trials of travel.

I'm sure that I dreamt all night last night, but only one or two really stuck, and they were bizarre. People from my past, people I haven't spoken to in...ages. I woke up kind of sad about that.

There's a girl in my room who has not moved for over 24 hours. I asked reception, and apparently that's just the way she is. Either eats all the time or sleeps all the time. I thought I should check in on her just to make sure I wasn't sleeping next to a dead person. I would have felt bad ; )

It's grey here, but not cold at all...I'm wandering around in shorts, getting funny looks from people. I'm afraid I might be suited to this climate a little too much....

Advertisement



5th November 2008

Poking Stick?
If you have a good hiking stick, you can always use it as a poking stick, that way you can check on your seemingly deceased roomie. I hope work goes well, keep the updates coming, you're like my own personal soap opera.
7th November 2008

Like the hiking stick idea. Alternatively you could paint her feet and see if she ever gets up and leaves footprints. Somewhat like a soapie - love it because I actually know the star! Big hugs all the way from Oz (have a little Aussie sunshine to go with it).

Tot: 0.318s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0975s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb