A wee bit of Scotland


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Midlothian » Edinburgh
April 17th 2007
Published: April 17th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So I have spent the last day and change in Scotland.
I took a train from Manchester to York to Edinburgh to Inverness and then back to Edinburgh. All in a row. It took all day literally!
The train from Edinburgh to Inverness ran right through the Scotish Highlands. Met a mate (haha Im so British) who I passed the nearly 5 hour journey with from surprizingly Peoria Illinois. I know my bro and sis will appreciate that! But he was really cool and we got along well.
Oh my gosh! What amazing landscapes!! There is really nothing like it in the states. The only way I can describe it is to try and imagine earth and rock in liquid form in a giant pitcher and then the pitcher is pored and all the liquid flows across the country in waves. Forming crests and valleys, highs and lows, and then all of a sudden it is flash frozen and solidified. That is the scottish scenery. There are no real cliffs. No real mountains. Every single elevation change was smooth and flowing and could be climbed with nothing more than a sturdy walking stick. It is undescribeable!
Once I got to Inverness I was unimpressed it was a touristy kinda town. So I jumped on the first train that went back to Edinburgh because Austin (the mate I rode with) said that he simply loved it. So of course I got the train that stopped at EVERY SINGLE stop along the way. Took forever!
Got into Edinburgh just after mid-night and wandered around a little while and then found a place to stay.
The next day I took a walking tour (free) around the town. There were about 6 of us on the tour. I found that 2 of them were from the University of Michigan studying abroad. The rivalry traverses any distance lol! Edinburgh is such a beautiful place!! Not enough words to describe it really. I took a jant up an overlooking hill and was blown away by the view. Wished I coulda stayed longer but long confusing hostel situation prevented it.

I want to appologize for the lack of pictures. I do have pictures I swear. But I have found it hard to find a place that lets you use USB drives because they fear virus uploads and such. So it goes. (Lol I read Slaughter House Five)

Advertisement



18th April 2007

insanely jealous
i would just like to further state aside from my comment title that i'm incredibly jealous of you. it sounds like you are having such an amazing experience!!!
19th April 2007

hey mo sounds like a great time u still without ur bag???

Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0408s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb