Camera Obscura and The Whisky Museum


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Midlothian » Edinburgh
January 14th 2007
Published: February 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Waking up this morning was painful, my leg muscles were still very sore and achy from the run, so I opted for a lie in and to leave checking out until the last possible minute whilst Kath went off to explore.

We met at Starbucks on the mile, where the English/Scottish accents led to me buying a latte in a paper cup and when asking for it in a mug, being given a mug of milk! Way too confusing for me having only recently woken up!

Once the caffeine had kicked in we went to Camera Obscura. I'd never heard of this place before and was pleasantly surprised that for such a reasonable entrance fee there was so much to do. When you pay you're given a time to visit the actual camera obscura which is on the 5th floor of the building. However, on each of the other floors, you'll find other attractions varying from Victorian pictures of Edinburgh to stunning holograms.

The top floor has wonderful panoramic views of the city and when it was time for the main event we were treated to a very professional explanation of how the camera obscura works and given the chance to pick up people from the grounds of the castle (oh-err!).

The only downside was we spent so much time there that we didn't have enough time to go on the guided tour at The Whisy Heritage Centre. Instead, we had lunch in its very nice restaurant, where I dared to try vegetarian Haggis. I wasn't sure what to exect, but I was pleasantly surprised and although I would go out specifically to buy it, next time I'm in Ednburgh, I'm sure I'll try it again.

And then it was time to go home, fortunately this time it was only one connecting train, which I was able to walk staright on to :-)



Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.036s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb