A Fine Day in Edinburgh


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Midlothian » Edinburgh
May 16th 2006
Published: January 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Felt so much better after the nap, even if I don't think it was long enough.
It was nice having a day just for me in Edinburgh.
Got directions to the nearest Lloyds from reception...directions, I would like to add, which have led me to believe that they had all been drinking some pretty hearty spirits, because that got me nowhere near a Lloyds. I, however, being the wonderfully capable and skilled navigator that I am, managed to find one, about 20 blocks from where they said I would. Ok...maybe not that far. Only about 8 blocks. But whatever, you get the point. 8 blocks can feel like 20 in Edinburgh, with the winding non-sensical streets. Got the money for WIS, so that's good. Still have a goodly amount in the bank too, that's always nice! Doing good on the budget front so far!
Once the banking issues were done, I bought myself a little lunch and sat on a bench near St Giles, listening to the chuch bells ring, basking in the hour of sunlight, feeding the pigeons and just watching the people walking along the Royal Mile. I love watching people, it's just so interesting. I could spend hours doing it.
I'm not sure about the Braveheart Cow statue though...Edinburgh right now is overrun with cow statues, some charity thing for dairy farmers. But this one might be going a bit too far. They've taken down the statue of William Wallace that was there (I have pictures from the last time I was in Edinburgh, I KNOW that it was William Wallace before...it wasn't always a cow!) and they have replaced it with this weird cow, face painted with the cross of St George, holding a shield and brandishing a broadsword. It's disturbing.
Had dinner with Tony again, this time at a place called Jimmy Chung's, which is right near Waverley Station, so definitely easy to find. Love all you can eat places! We had planned to go on the Ghosts and Torture tour after dinner, but we missed the last tour by like 10 minutes. Oh well...the tours are always running, it's not like I won't get the chance again!
So excited about the tour tomorrow...I need to go and get my bags organised, since I'm only taking the daypack with me.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 13; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0469s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb