Oban to Glasglow


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Lanarkshire » Glasgow
July 26th 2013
Published: July 26th 2013
Edit Blog Post

It was a bit difficult to wake up this morning. Some how I managed to make it to breakfast on time. After eating, we were off to the town of Stirling. On the way we stopped to see Hamish, the hairy cow. Evidently this is a tourist attraction?? Not really my thing...but we got onto he bus to go to Sterling Castle, which is very much my thing! The castle is very beautiful and the sun finally comes out. The grounds are so green and the landscaping is stunning. The castle is visitor friendly with many rooms designed to experience the castle. Each room has a person in authentic dress explaining features of the castle. Laura and I found thrones in the great hall. I had to sit and take a picture. It felt natural... I must've been royalty in a past life. It would explain a lot. After touring the castle, we headed to the William Wallace (aka Braveheart) Monument. You have to walk up at steep trail to get to the base of the monument. It began to rain a bit, but we continued on! We decided not to pay the 8.50 pounds to go up to the top. The views from where we were spectacular and I'd rather buy 2 pints of beer later. Shocking I know! After browsing the gift shop, it was back on the bus en route to Glasglow! It is so great to be in a city and not the country. Don't get me wrong I enjoy the countryside, but for small amounts of time. Glasglow has a edge about it. Many people with many different hair colors. Also their accent is so thick, I can't understand them. However, we are both speaking English. We walked around and found ourselves in a mall. Then we stopped at McDonald's for a little snack. My first overseas McDonald's experience. They had mozzarella sticks (but they call it mozzarella dippers), so Laura and I had to get them. Now, we are resting before dinner and drinks. Off to Ireland tomorrow! This is the part of the trip I've been waiting for!!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0394s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb