1st New Year


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Lanarkshire » Glasgow
January 1st 2011
Published: January 1st 2011
Edit Blog Post

This year, I'll be celebrating two New Years. Obviously the UK one was last night, and I opted for a quiet one with my family. I was invited to a ceilidh but at the time we had to book my skin was terrible and I wasn't sure that it would be any better so I declined. I'd also been to to ceilidh last year and wasn't too fussed about doing the same thing twice in a row. Actually, by the time last night came I was rather glad I wasn't going, partly because there's been a bit of drama with one of the other girls that was going, but mainly because I am already starting to feel homesick (even though I haven't left yet!) so was stocking up on feel good family vibes.

My second New Year of the year will be at the beginning of February, with Chinese New Year and Spring festival. My friend Shum is coming over to visit and we're going to do a wee bit of travelling and should be in Beijing for the festivities. I'm hoping they'll put on lots of events for us tourists, parades and fireworks etc. Shum is arriving at the end of Jan, and that's great because it gives us something to look forward to when we get back, and will no doubt both be feeling a little blue. And my mum is talking about coming over in the summer again, so that's wonderful news. It's likely that I will be leaving at the end of August, and I'm sure the time will fly by so I want to make the most of being over there; making more effort with the language in particular.

I've really enjoyed being at home, far more than I thought I would. I think I am actually a far more positive person than I give myself credit for. Ok I have spots, but I've not let it ruin my holiday in the way that I thought I would. I guess I'm not as vain as I used to be 😊 I've even been out with no make up on, once I realised that Scottish people wouldn't be as rude as Chinese people in terms of commenting on my face, to my face...

So, this holiday....I worked in Buchanan Galleries on the stall, which I love. The customers are great and because it was so busy pre Christmas the time went really quickly.

I only had one night out, but it was two squeezed into one. A little annoying actually because Rach, Emma and I had been planning to go to Nice and Sleazys for the acoustic night since we left. We always try to go together when I'm back because we practically lived there 2001-2004, but it just so happened that it was Lindsay's 30th the same night. So we did both, but it was a bit of a shame because I would have liked to stay at Sleazys longer, and felt quite bad leaving the birthday (which we did) for a while. In a lovely twist, I bumped into Corinna at Sleazy's who I'd been trying to coordinate diaries with, but we couldn't find a good time for us both to meet up. Anyway, it was fine, good night was had, I got to dance a lot, even though the music was sometimes a bit random. We left earlier than I wanted to, but then I don't think I was as drunk as everyone else.

Sofia and I went to see Harry Potter. I actually really enjoyed it and was disappointed when it ended. I had a really nice afternoon with Sof actually, went with her to buy her first make up and was there when she used the ATM for the first time, so I feel like a proper big sister again, rather than an absentee one!

In a bid to spice up my diet without messing my face up further, I went to the supermarket to stock on on herbs, spices and flavour mixes. I went in the evening so had to go to Asda Govan which is huge. It was so busy. I assumed that the day before New Years Eve I'd be the only person sad enough to be out shopping, but there was loads of us! I saw the worst looking transvestite (stubble and a high pony tail) which was pretty much the highlight of that night.

I had dinner with Caroline at Merchant Square - it was lovely to catch up with her, and I was excited to hear that her plans involve a one way ticket to Spain! Oh, randomly, this psychic came round and told me that I would be proposed two twice, but accept only one. There won't be a long engagement, just marriage, and a small family, and that I wouldn't get divorced. She also said I'd live some where abroad, maybe America, Australia or Abu Dhabi in a house by the sea. You know, even if it doesn't happen she painted a nice picture which may well provide comfort through the lonely Chinese nights 😊

Today, I'm making steak pie and finishing off my application for Yale. I really haven't done enough on Wharton, NUS or Strathclyde yet but have got a 20 hour journey on Monday so hope to get a move on then! Unfortunately the doctor has told me I can't run for a couple of weeks because I have a gammy toe, so I guess the only option is to sit at home and eat chocolate!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0752s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb