The Planning Stage II


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Lanarkshire » Glasgow
June 15th 2010
Published: June 15th 2010
Edit Blog Post

It's all seeming very soon now!

For quite some time it was all very far away; as though all the planning was simply just planning, with nothing concrete actually taking place at the end of it. Even my flights seemed pseudo-booked, confirmation emails floating around in the ether. But now, I am flying out next week, NEXT WEEK, I finish up work for good tomorrow at half past 12, and last night I lay awake for half an hour making a million different lists in my head. Still so many things to do before heading to London, and then on to Beijing.

I've definitely made progress since the last entry, mind you! What is scary is everything that is yet to be done. I think most of the stressful things are actually incidental to travel, such as moving out of my flat and leaving it in a presentable state! I have quite a lot of things packed up now, though, and intend to do a bit more tonight. At least finishing up this job tomorrow means that I will have 24 hours a day to devote to moving/packing. I'm not taking a lot of stuff with me - Beijing's a big city and much of what I need will be available there. Aside from hiking stuff for Mount Fuji, I'm about set, packing-wise, as of today. As I said, it's mostly the incidentals.

Progress Made

My room is now resembling a small chemist, as of today - Superdrug had many a top deal on today and so I stocked up! So I'm taking with me: paracetamol, ibuprofen, imodium (oh the joys!), pepto-bismol (PINK!!!!), plenty 50%!D(MISSING)EET bug spray, suncream, a wee first-aid kit with plasters etc, rehydration sachets, hand sanitiser, travel washing stuff... THINK that's it! OK, I'm aware I'm not going to need all - if any! - of it, but rather that than feel a bit rubbish and not be able to do anything. ESPECIALLY when it comes to the travel tum. Also picked up a travel towel and a couple combination locks today.

KRISS AND I HAVE HOSTELS IN JAPAN!!!! For 8 days, anyway! Which means that we have a firm itinerary, which is so exciting. Booking said hostels did made me rather glad that in China we're playing it largely by ear, as it took forever! Just between comparing the dates and checking prices, etc. So, so far, we have 4 nights in Tokyo (in crazy cabin beds that look pretty fun!), 3 nights in Kyoto, and 1 night in Osaka, in a place that looks really trad, and they emailed Kriss, Hart-sama! I've also emailed a place in Narita City to reserve a place to stay the night before K gets in. We also want to stay close to the airport the night before we leave - Mercure are doing a good deal which we'll probably snap up. Feels so good to have the bulk of things booked now! We just need a few odd hostels here and there, then we're all set!

Been looking lots at Beijing hostels and they're all much of a muchness - tempted to stay at the hostel I was in last time, near Tiananmen Square. Pretty cheap and I liked it last time, so may as well - only going to stay in Beijing for 3 nights anyway, as there's so much of the country I want to cram in!!

I have (nearly) decided on a camera! Have definitely decided on a bridge over an SLR, for ease of carrying, and saving of monies! It's between two models - have held them both, just going to do some image quality comparison tonight then probs get it ordered online. Can't wait to take some test shots!

Still to do (Sooooo blooming much!!!)

The insurance is the biggie. Hiking stuff for Fuji. Few other things - contact lenses!!!!! Apart from that, will have to review my list! Trying to source another iPhone charger, mine is wrecked. And getting my old phone unlocked to take a Chinese sim... and so on. Little by little, I'll get there.

My tickets have arrived from the email ether. I'm going to China!!!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0461s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb