Back to Scotland


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Lanarkshire » Glasgow
July 13th 2009
Published: July 13th 2009
Edit Blog Post

After a morning of wandering around Newcastle, and taking photos of all the bridges and fantastic buildings, I left Anna and Alan and their wonderful flat, to head back to Glasgow. Of course I came back to a torrential downpour and a room in a hostel which is down a corridor filled with all kinds of building materials. Apparently they're remodeling some of the rooms, and have decided that it's okay to leave sanders, plaster, toilets, and various other oddities all over the floor of the hall. And it's not like carrying two backpacks in a normal hall isn't difficult enough!

I'm sharing a room with three other girls, and I bet that they're not going to be too happy to find out that I'm leaving at 4:15am tomorrow morning. Yes, that's 4:15 am!!! Yikes. Why did I book a flight that leaves at 7:40am? Since Prestwick airport is out in the middle of nowhere, and the trains to the airport don't actually start until 6am, I have to take the night bus that leaves the bus station at 4:45am so I'm at the airport early enough to check in. My plan is to sleep on the plane (big surprise) and also maybe sleep in the clothes I'm wearing tomorrow. It's not like I'll be sleeping very long anyway.... I figure if I can have everything all packed and ready to go right away, I can sneak out without awaking my roommates. I hope. I did something a little sneaky, but in the long run, it will be to everyone's benefit. I was supposed to have a top bunk, and chose the untaken bottom bunk. It will be a lot easier and quieter to sneak out of a bottom bunk than a top bunk, I think. Hopefully no one will be mad. I'll just pull a "Oops, I didn't realize! Sorry!" sort of act. 😉

So I've done a little wandering around again here, and am going to have my last pub dinner. Or at least last UK pub dinner.... I made sure that I've bought some Bourbon Cream cookies to take with me and maybe will grab something to eat just before boarding the plane so I don't starve to death tomorrow morning. We'll see what I find -- it may just be Bourbon Cream cookies for breakfast!

I think it will be an early night, getting my bags organized, and making sure I'm ready to go. I just hope I don't sleep through the alarm! Wish me luck!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.139s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.115s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb