Alnwick Castle


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Northumberland
July 12th 2009
Published: July 12th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Alnwick Castle was quite interesting. First off, the name looks like it should be pronounced "Aln-wick" but really it's said "Annick" (or at least that's how it sounds to me). The castle itself is HUGE and still being used by Lord and Lady Percy. I was allowed to take photos on the grounds, but not inside the State rooms, which was too bad because there were some really neat ceilings and many mirrors in the rooms that would have made for some interesting photography.

The castle was used in the making of the Harry Potter films, as discussed by my tour guide. I had wandered around the entire castle on my own first, and then joined the tour group before heading out. That way I was able to see what I wanted, take my time on photos, and then see what the guide was discussing without missing anything. The castle also had the opportunity to dress up in costume (I didn't, but was tempted) and do brass rubbings (I did). Lots of great photo ops! There was also a Castle Gardens I could have gone to, but for another 10 pounds. I did go by the treehouse cafe (yes, you heard right, a treehouse!) and took some photos of that, but didn't go in (would have been part of the garden ticket).

I also took a bus to Alnmouth to see the seaside. It was pretty, but an hour was sufficient as the day was not particularly warm and it was quite windy. I almost got a soaker when the tide came up suddenly, but managed to jump out of the water in time. Phew!

Tomorrow I'll be wandering around Newcastle (hopefully with Anna) before leaving around lunchtime to head back to Glasgow. I fly out to Poland early Tues. morning!!!!

Advertisement



13th July 2009

Hey Sue! Glad you're having fun out there. Over here, there was a massive storm Sat. morning... to my surprise, I slept through it. Apparently it was right OVER us. Anyway, hope you're enjoying yourself! The fam says hi! See ya when you get back :)

Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0717s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb