Ceilidh= country dancing made cool


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Lanarkshire » Glasgow
February 3rd 2007
Published: February 3rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

I went to my first ceilidh last night. It was held on a permanently docked ferry on the River Clyde (in walking distance from where I live). The dancing was high energy and manic. It just so happened that we have P.E. training classes at the university and last Wednesday was the class on how to teach dance! I was swung, pushed and pulled around by my more knowledgeable Scottish peers.

Learning intention: to learn the basic steps for Scottish country dancing.

Actual learning outcome: be drunk enough to be sufficiently pliable for the physical trauma.

With my new found knowledge in mind, my Scottish counterpart and I decided to relive our high school years by getting really drunk really fast and really cheaply. Jeanette drank so much she spent the rest of the night drinking water. I decided to go strong and mixed vodka and cranberry in a large water bottle to bring to the ferry. Needless to say the ceilidh became the setting for another “Hansee and Jeanette do Glasgow” episode.

There are actually lots of different Scottish country dances, all designed for different venues and occasions. Ceilidhs are very popular here. When I think
me and Fioname and Fioname and Fiona

my friend/classmate. She's a Scottish dancing expert.
of country dancing I picture a bunch of old people at a rented out recreation centre. Here, they are for all ages and probably as high energy as your average rave. Many night clubs have ceilidh nights and special bands come to play for the night. The band last night used a mixture of fiddle, accordion, bagpipes and other instruments.

Check out the videos of the ceilidh.



Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Robert Burns DayRobert Burns Day
Robert Burns Day

This was taken a few weeks ago. Jeanette made haggis, nips, and tatties for us. We had both the regular and the vegetarian versions. Really good mushed into some sweet potato. Yummy in my tummy!
me!me!
me!

check out the scarf! Jeanette said I looked like such a tourist. I think I look good!!!
BuckfastBuckfast
Buckfast

The choice drink for winos, highschool kids and my new friends.


12th February 2007

Jeanette does a Homer
If you look closely of the picture of Jeanette in the taxi then I am pretty sure that Homer Simpson comes to mind!
12th February 2007

the homer burp
Are you thinking of the lip ripple that he makes when he burps?

Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0239s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb