Loch Who


Advertisement
Published: August 5th 2010
Edit Blog Post

FortroseFortroseFortrose

Local Homes
On my way to the Loch ness’ must say I was a little excited; that was until I got there. Because the roads don’t have any shoulders there really isn’t anywhere to pull over for you can have look see. I came across an information building/gift shop along Loch ness also there stood Urquhart Castle a look out and a pier. This area was fenced off and well treed so you couldn’t really see at all, what a disappointment. To truly have a good look at loch ness you had to pay for it 7pound 50. Which is fifteen dollars, so at this point I got a little annoyed everywhere I have been too you have to pay, pay, pay. Not only are you paying an entrance fee but also parking which is usually 3 pound $6. These open areas should be free; I can understand the castle wanting an admission to contribute toward its up keep but I didn’t want to see the castle, I just wanted to sit by loch ness so I took off, its tourism madness. Ok that’s enough complaining now. , everyone is entitled to a bad day.
I made my way to Inverse which was
FortroseFortroseFortrose

View from the road in Fortrose.
a very busy town I drove around looking for a car park I couldn’t find one so I just decided to make my way to the Isle of Skye, it was a good decision I diverted off for a while onto the black isle here I had a little look around it was made up of lots of little old towns that lined the shores, with decorative pubs and quirky shops. Beautiful homes with thatch roofs, the homes are so lovely in the country areas. I came across Fortrose Cathedral and also the local church which was situated in an area overlooking the sea. After a little wonder around I drove off and parked by the sea and made my lunch, nothing to exciting just a sandwich.
As I continued back on my course I turned off at a sign saying Rogie Falls. It was a pleasant walk along the pathways, leading up to the falls I could hear the water crashing in the distance. As I got to the bridge I discovered it was a swing bring and only 6 people were aloud on it at one time I’m not so good with things like this I get wobbly
Beach ViewBeach ViewBeach View

This is where I sat and made lunch, not bad.
legs. Any way I walked across the bridge it wasn’t too bad as long as no one moved really. The falls were lovely, cascading down the side of the mountain and bouncing of huge boulders, and how the water moved. I walked along a little further and found my way to the side of the river where I sat for a while in peace it was actual turning out to be a really nice day. As I back tracked I could see a rainbow forming in the spray off water; I love rainbows so off course I look lots of photos, made a wish and was on my way again, it was nice to stretch to old leggies for a while.
Bye the time I reached the Isle of Skye the weather had really turned, it was bucketing down. I also began to realize I should have booked some accommodation as everywhere I was looking said no vacancies. Up ahead was a sign saying Broadford; hey good old Broadford I use to live in Broadford, Melbourne of course, so I thought well I might just try to find somewhere to stay here as a novelty really, then as I was driving I was confronted with the face of sheer desperation, a lady was completely soaked to the skin dragging her bags in the pouring rain hitch hiking with a younger girl, I felt so bad for them I turned around parked my car and waved them over this is the first time I have ever picked up a hitch hiker. Her name was Nadine and she holidaying with her daughter, they were from France and had just missed the last bus to Portree. I wasn’t sure how far away this town was, it actually took 50 minutes to drive there, no way would this mother and daughter had made the walk it was hill after hill windy road after windy road, Oh well good dead for the day they actually gave me there no and address in France and invited me to stay with them; very cool.
Now I need to go again to find somewhere to stay, there was just no where available so I headed out of town a little further and came across a little house that was literally in the fork of the road odd really anyway they had a B & B sign so I
FortroseFortroseFortrose

One of the local homes.
pulled in. A lovely tiny little Scottish lady answered the door , as she opened the door the smell of beautiful essential oils hit me, and I knew this was a good place to stay. Catriona showed the room it was lemon and white with prettiest wall paper even on the ceiling. The doona was a thick as the mattress it was fabulous, I asked how much and she said 50 pound I said oh well it will have to do as it was getting late. I walked outside to collect my bags and as I walked in Catriona said she would do it for 35 pound for me; wow thank you so much. I was in heaven my own spotless room with an truly comfy bed the smell of lovely oils a spotless bathroom, cooked breaky this is just grand. It those little things that make you feel great. I tell you I slept like a baby. In the morning I had lovely fluffy scrambled eggs on toast, juice cereal and Catriona and I had a great chat, Catriona had lived on the Isle all her life obviously she loves it. There were photos of her sweet little granddaughter on the walls. One in particular caught my eye and made me smile she was wearing a red coat that Catriona had sent for her, her little face just had protest written all over it with her hands on her hips, the letter from her son said she didn’t want to pose for the photos and sure enough you could see it, well we had a good laugh.
As the weather was so bad I didn’t stay on the Isle I decide to chase the sun and headed for Oban a coastal town, as I left the Isle I did spot a sea eagle souring through the air.
I was on a mission I wanted to see the five sisters which are a group of mountains in the Highlands and loch Lommond, I had been looking at this area on the map and it had me a little intrigued, and I tell you I was not disappointed, the area around the five sisters is truly superb its green lush with vegetation and every now and then you would come across patches of purple flowers, these flowers were doted all over the country just growing wild they made such a pretty
Rogie FallsRogie FallsRogie Falls

The walk to the Falls.
show. This area was completely different from the north and even more spectacular, the area was so dense and the locks were nestled in the valleys surrounded by trees.
Finally I hit Loch Lommond, I had been anticipating this for days I parked my car “for free” oh of course no monster here. Oops Sarcasm, I was able to walk alongside the loch, I sat down and listened to the waves hitting the shore. There were a few grand homes lucky enough to be nested in the trees across the other side of the loch. Imagine waking up every morning to such a show, all seasons would bring so many changes of face and each as lovely as the next. I sat here for some time, cleansed my crystals in the water; just a thing I do it was very enjoyable. The mist was sitting on the water and as the sun shone the mist began to clear, it gave me a truly amazing look at what the area was like, and up lifted the air of mystery and here shone the beauty of life; wow.
I think Loch Lommond was certainly in a beautiful area and not spoilt by
Rogie FallsRogie FallsRogie Falls

Catch a Rainbow
the drive for the tourist dollar surrounded by a lovely local community. I came across so I headed down for a walk they were running cruises from here. As I headed toward the pier a very old but very beautiful red setter ran up to me, he only wanted to say his hellos, his owner was a little concerned about his slobber, he was well mannered and then on his way once again. By this time the day was warm, sunny and the water was sparkling, a most enjoyable morning.



Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

B & B Isle of SkyeB & B Isle of Skye
B & B Isle of Skye

Catriona had beautiful home.
Isle Of SkyeIsle Of Skye
Isle Of Skye

Local Home
Broadford Isle Of SkyeBroadford Isle Of Skye
Broadford Isle Of Skye

This is where I picked up the hitch hikers.
The Five sistersThe Five sisters
The Five sisters

I loved driving through the five sisters it was completely different.
Five SistersFive Sisters
Five Sisters

A loch nested at the bottom of the Five Sisters
On my way to ObanOn my way to Oban
On my way to Oban

Loves this shot as the sun was going down.
Isle Of SkyeIsle Of Skye
Isle Of Skye

Falls of the side of the cliff.


Tot: 0.129s; Tpl: 0.023s; cc: 9; qc: 40; dbt: 0.0392s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb