The Big One


Advertisement
Published: May 16th 2011
Edit Blog Post

104 miles
Well what can I say? We did it. In the planning this was the day about which I was most doubtfull. Not only for myself but I had in mind Ewen's cycling max was 60 miles.
Ewen started the day in pain from the fact his knees do not react well to pedalling up hills for hours and hours. The day was full of adventure including finding the cycle route closed and forcing us on to the A9 which is very busy and quite intimidating to a cyclist. We caused aq bit of a tailback before we prematurel joined what was the cycle route but was now in the middle of the building disruption that goes on in any major road works.
The climb was long and hard over the Cairngorms and the highest point in my whole journey in the JoGLe was over the Drumochder Pass. I hope to show you a photo when I can work how to do it on this site.
Well Ewens courage was rewarded with us getting into Pitlochry at about 19.15, tired but elated.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0395s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb