Oops! Lots to update on!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Caithness County » Thurso
July 9th 2010
Published: July 9th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I will try to remember all of the things that have happened between our last update and now.
We spent 3 fantastic nights in the Cinque Terre. We hiked the hardest part of the trail between the towns, stopped for lunch and then decided that we were done. We met a lot of fantastic people, especially Molli from Philly!
We returned to Venice for our last 2 nights in Italy. On the last night we went out dancing...let me just say that I am not ok with the fact that Italian men can move their hips better than I can!
Now for a little travel disaster story:
So, Hannah and I got up to leave Venice and easily got our train to Milan. However, when we reached Milan we realized that we had no money for the airport shuttle. We wandered around the huge train station asking where there was an ATM. Finally we found one that wasn't even in the train station, only to be told by a policeman that we couldn't use it. We were pointed in the very vague direction of another one...but after wandering the area around the train station in the muggy heat, I finally remembered that I had some US dollars in my bag that we could exchange for euros. We returned to the train station and I gave the exchange person $30...I got 13 euros back. Luckily that was enough to get us tickets for our shuttle.
So, we manage to get to the Milan airport...we are told that our plane has been delayed by an hour. If I remember correctly we were supposed to have a 1 1/2 hour layover in London, so even with the hour delay we still had the chance to make our connection. So, finally we get on our plane and taxi out to the runway.....of course the airport we are at has only 1 runway and it is used by departing and arriving planes. So, of course, there is a problem. A small incoming plane bottomed out during it's landing (no one was hurt) and spilled oil on the tarmac. So our departure was delayed for about another 3 hours.
Finally we get off the ground!!! We got to London and managed to get put on the last plane to Edinburgh! We got to the deliciously cool Scotland at about 10:30 at night, but managed to find our hostel rather quickly and we went right to bed.

Edinburgh:
We spent 5 nights in Edinburgh (originally we were only going to spend 4) and went out dancing every night! Our first full day we wandered around searching for a starbucks, went shopping for warmer clothing than what we had, and met up with Hannah's friend Tess.
Over the next few days we saw Edinburgh castle (it was amazing!), I got to meet my penpal Jacinta, and met 2 other girls from Seattle who just happened to be staying in the same room as us!
We also met Rob from Chicago and Mike from Boston, who had just met each other and were deciding to travel together. When they heard that we were going up into the Highlands they asked if they could join us. We said yes...and it has been a 24 hour comedy show ever since.

Inverness:
We all caught a bus to Inverness from Edinburgh and then decided that we wanted to rent a car so that we could get around the highlands easier. Of course, by the time we got to Inverness all of the car rental places were closed. We managed to get what may have been the last 4 available beds in the entire city...they happened to be in a hostel run by who I believe to be a real life Arnold Shwarzeneggar impersonater. I had to work so hard to keep a straight face, but couldn't resist whispering "Ahhhnohold" to Mike as we were all shown to our room.
Yesterday we rented a car and I spent about an hour in sheer terror as the boys tried to figure out how to drive on the other side of the road. And let me just say that before I came to Inverness I had thought that turn-arounds in the US were bad. Now I know better. I don't know who designed the ones over here but they are INSANE.
Anyway, at my request, we drove out to the Culloden Battlefield. Quick history: This was the last hand-to-hand battle that was ever fought on British soil, and it was the battle that destroyed the Scottish Highland clans. At the site you get the walk out on the battlefield and you can see the burial mounds for all of the clans that fought. There are big engraved stones at each mound that tell which clan is buried there. Getting to stand on that field was incredible.
After that we drove to Loch Ness and tried to find the monster. What we found instead were some fantastic views, and a tree that Rob, Mike and I climbed...and then realized we hadn't thought about how we would get back down.
Finally we headed up to Thurso. It was a jaw-dropping drive. We saw the most amazing rainbow I have ever seen. It was a full arc! I didn't even know that was actually possible! And it was a triple rainbow!
The guys got a bit more accustomed to driving on the left side of the road, although there were a few times where Rob very politely reminded Mike that he should probably move to the left hand side of the road.
We got to Thurso and Hannah and I had reservations at a hostel there....the guys didn't and ended up having to car camp nearby.
Yesterday had beautiful weather, but this morning it is grey and a little rainy. We had been intending to go pony riding, but didn't think about the fact that we would need reservations, so the plan will probably just be castle/view hunting.
Tomorrow we head back down to Inverness to return the car and part ways with the guys. It'll be sad because I have spent the last 2 days laughing my butt off over their ridiculous antics. However, I am looking forward to London, as I will get to see my old english teacher Ms. Etter, and Hannah and I are going to Les Mis on the West End!!!
For now, it's all good "only Inverness"...yes, that's an inside joke =)

Love Gabi

Advertisement



Tot: 0.23s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0375s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb