Scotland trips


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Ayrshire » Largs
May 5th 2010
Published: May 5th 2010
Edit Blog Post

As part of my bid to make the most of Scotland while I'm here I spent the bank holiday in three different places.

On Saturday I climbed Ben Lomond with my friend Corinna. It's a long time since I did any hill walking but, overall, I really enjoyed it. It was actually snowing when we got to the top, so we didn't stop long before heading back to the car. Ben Lomond is not far from Glasgow so you do get some city types meandering up, we spotted a group drinking budweiser was the climbed - don't think they made it to the top! I had to force myself to stay awake until 9.30pm I was so tired when I got home!

On Sunday my friend Rachael and I went to St Andrews to meet three of the girls who'll be coming to China so do internships at the school in the summer. They are really lovely girls and it was great to get to know them before we all head off. Lunch was good and Rach and I explored some of the ruins in the town and enjoyed checking out some of the more unusual shops. In the evening, I went to some local comedy and ended up dancing in a really cheesy club near my house.

Finally, on Monday Sofia and I took a day trip. We decided that instead of getting her a present for her 16th birthday we would spend the day together. We went to Millport, which is on the island of Cumbrae (can't remember if it's little cumbrae, or greater...) and were very lucky to have a lovely sunny day. We hired a tandem bike which was hilarious. We were worried about making fools or ourselves so walked the bike out of the town and practised a bit out of sight. It was tricky to get the hang of, but we got there in the end. It is a real test of trust especially when you are on the back! We really, really enjoyed it though and stopped for a picnic on route. Other highlights from the day are eating chips on the beach and Nardini's ice cream when we got back to Largs. Lots of lovely memories and a few pictures too.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.281s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0769s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb