Highlands and Islands!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Argyll » Oban
June 2nd 2006
Published: June 2nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Isle of SkyeIsle of SkyeIsle of Skye

View from Old Man of Storer
Finding work in Glasgow seemed like too difficult of a task so I just hung about for a week in a rad hostel called North Lodge Hostel (highly recommended if you don't mind dirty hostels with no nice decor). I still really like Glasgow and am a little sad that I didn't originally go there instead of Edinburgh. Speaking of Edinburgh, I visited the place a week ago and saw all my old hostel friends and caught up. Good times :D

On Monday I went up to the Isle of Skye for a few nights. It was gorgeous (as was the busride there)! I went hiking around the mountains. I nearly cried it was so beautiful! It's the kind of place that you can't really understand at all by the pictures. You have to be there to feel it and breathe in the beauty along with the sea air. I think that have a thing for mountains and the sea. Kinda reminds me of home.

So now I'm in Oban, a quaint seaside town on the west coast of Scotland. I haven't exactly figured out if it counts as the highlands or not. I'm a cleaner in a hostel
Old Man of StorerOld Man of StorerOld Man of Storer

Rocks on Skye
here for the next three weeks before I go to Spain. It's really good to be able to rest a little and feel like I have a home. I went out and bought a whole bunch of groceries and it felt great to know I get to cook and eat well (it's weird the things I miss are things like kitchens). I've decided I need to go on a bikini diet so that I look hot (and unfortunately, very pale) in the Spanish sun! I can explore things around Oban as well and I'm so happy to be here!! Yea! Wee! Ok, I'm done.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Old Man of StorerOld Man of Storer
Old Man of Storer

Rocks on Skye
SkyeSkye
Skye

Carraing
ObanOban
Oban

Oban Harbor and Kerrera (the little island)
CastleCastle
Castle

in Argyl county
ObanOban
Oban

view from the ferry
Dunollie CastleDunollie Castle
Dunollie Castle

ruined castle in Oban
LighthouseLighthouse
Lighthouse

On the way to Mull


2nd June 2006

Woot!
Hey kim- Just read the last couple entries. those cliffs looked like fun. Miss you! you gonna drop by on saturday with your 50 friends?
2nd June 2006

I think that have a thing for mountains and the sea. Kinda reminds me of home. Same here.
3rd June 2006

I ought go on a bikini diet for las vegas next week, WOOolrktjoiO!(@*1! so do it mean you're cuming home to me in oktobur?
6th June 2006

She's never coming home.... we're shackin up in colorado.....Muwahahahaahhah. ..

Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0705s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb