Scottish Cows


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Argyll » Oban
May 12th 2009
Published: May 12th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I saw a couple of these yesterday while we were driving, but they were always on the wrong side of the vehicle for me to take a picture. They're pretty wild looking, with long horns and shaggy coats!

Today I finished my explorations of my ancestral home, and made the five hour drive to the west coast this afternoon. I t was a beautiful drive, through forested area, alongside two large lakes, show-capped mountains in the background a fair bit of the way, with warm sunshine and clear skies all day, and very little wind. The west coast is apparently a lot warmer than the east coast due to ocean currents.

Tomorrow morning I'll be taking a bus tour to Iona, an ancient abbey built originally by St. Columbus, heavily damaged during the reformation, and revived in the late 1800's to become a vibrant centre of worship and spirituality today.

If all goes well, I'll be back near Dundee tomorrow night, touring the Crop Research Centre there the following day, and then heading down to Edinburgh to work in the GRO and archives (family history headquarters for Scotland) on Friday. By then I'll be without a car, and taking bus or train to Lindisfarne (also called Holy Island) and then a glimse of Hadrian's Wall on another bus tour, before heading back to London Tuesday.

At £1 for 20 minutes, I need to keep this short, and uploading pics is extra so they'll have to wait. Maybe on the weekend I'll find a wireless connection. This town, Oban, is a fishing port as well as ferry terminal, and I'll be here until tomorrow at 9:45 AM. All is well except my bank account!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.158s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0538s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb