A little extra detail


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Argyll » Oban
September 1st 2007
Published: October 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I really need to keep up to date I know, I know…. Spending more than 10 mins on a computer has been a little difficult when you don’t have much access. Next job will be much closer to a city! Gee where do I start? Barcelona was absolutely beautiful and sunny all the time. I really loved the way the city is laid out with La Ramblas, huge parks, an old fort and the beach all really close. Spent so many hours walking up and down La Ramblas. The human statues who work this area day in and day out are amazing. I also fell in love with the massive fresh market here too. So many stalls of fresh fish, cheeses, herbs, meats, bread, fruit and vegetables, even candy havens. So many things I’d never seen before, who would want to buy a sheep’s head? Eyes, teeth and all. I could see myself walking through the market everyday for the day’s meals, who would ever eat fast food again! I think I was a little more mesmerized than Dave, he suffered big stomach problems after the second day which almost put him out of commission .

Being able to be
Pierhouse HotelPierhouse HotelPierhouse Hotel

from the outside
a part of the Formula One hype was really great as well. With so many Fernando Alonso supporters it was almost scary to be supporting any one else, except maybe Ferrari. The trip back and forth from the track was quite a job… it would be nice to have a bus driver who knows where he’s going. I also really need to remember to bring a big beach umbrella next time and I’m really wishing I hadn’t forgotten my big floppy straw hat. The sun has so much power to make a long day absolutely exhausting. By the time we left the track I was starting to get sun stroke and Dave had very bad heat rash on his feet of all places. We both really enjoyed ourselves and the BMW demonstration was great too. Dave changed a tire and drove a real driver’s car simulator. We went out dancing and met a lot of people at a traveller’s pub, I did feel a little out of place because I don’t understand Catalonian but you pick up bits and pieces as you go. We tasted tapas in a number of different places, from very good to not so good and listened to music on the streets. The hostel was perfectly comfortable and quiet, with a great location. I would DEFINITELY go back and can’t wait to see more of southern Europe.

Going back to Scotland after Barcelona was hard. It was very nice to have my freedom and space, but started to feel uncomfortable quite quickly living with Seonaid. Furnace is a cute little village with welcoming people, but they also love to gossip and form their own opinions very quickly. The local guys tend to be pretty desperate too. Inverary was a great experience and I would’ve loved to stay at The George longer, I was just starting to fit in nicely.

Working here at the Pierhouse has been good, it’s generally a good opportunity. A little chaotic and disorganized, but I get to work in the office the majority of the time so it’s a nice change and after I'm done I’ll have a reference that actually helps my resume back home too,as well as some money saved up.
I've also met quite a number of people coming through the area so there's invitations to visit a few people, which is always nice. Dave has made it back to Scotland and has been working here with me at the Pierhouse as well. Things are going good and we've put in our notices so we'll be on the road again October 20th! Very, very, very excited!!

It took a little while to decide where to go next since winter is approching and right now all I really want is some sun :P At first Greece was the choice but with ferry times being unpredictable and since the plan in the spring to head to Italy will also include Greece.... I figured I'd see more of the islands then. So we're off to... wait for it... Turkey! :D for 2 weeks. We found a good flight and decent appartment right near the beach. There seems to be a lot of history to explore, waterfalls and good markets. And it's hot, at least definately hotter compared to here, which is just the ticket. So we're flying out of Glasgow Oct 22 returning Nov 5 and probably heading to Ireland, I'd like to spend Christmas and New Year there.

I am still searching for a place to download the Barcelona pics but they will be posted eventually. Thanks
Castle StalkerCastle StalkerCastle Stalker

just round the bend...
for all your patience cause I know pics would be great to see right now. I can't believe it's been almost a year already! Don't be shy sending a few notes from across the pond, it's nice to hear from everyone once and awhile, even if I don't get to send a note back right away. I do tend to check my facebook.com often as well. Gotta go for now, love yous

P.S. Sorry if the pics are a bit blurry.. I'll post more





Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Melissa GardensMelissa Gardens
Melissa Gardens

where we're off to in Turkey.


Tot: 0.294s; Tpl: 0.025s; cc: 12; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0541s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb