The walls


Advertisement
Published: February 26th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I know I'm a little late starting this but I figured better late than never. I've been in Londonderry (or Derry as most of the locals call it) for a little over a month now. I absolutely love it so far. One of the coolest things about this city is it has so much history and culture. Historically the inner part of the city known as the walls is completely surrounded by enormous stone walls. It was originally built to prevent intruders in the 17th century (I could be wrong on the date). The coolest part about it is there is enough space to easily walk on the walls and go around the whole city which takes about 30 minutes or so. The views are amazing especially looking down onto the Bogside (I'll get into this more later). It really is amazing to see in person. I'll post plenty of pictures to help describe what I'm talking about. We got a tour around the walls that was really interesting. The cannons on the walls apparently are the orginal one's used to fight off intruders 300 years ago! Anyways I love it here so far and am having a great time. I'm traveling to Giant's Causeway this weekend (day trip) which I'm really excited about. Hopefully I'll have my spring break all planned out in the next few days too. I really am lucky to have such a great opportunity and there is no way I'm wasting it.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.037s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0211s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb