Goodbye to my island


Advertisement
Published: July 23rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

The majority of Saturday I sat back and relaxed and met those staying at the hostel. Glen is one of those piss in your pants from laughter kinds of people and he was a blast to be with. I also met Annie from West Virginia, Caroline and Nick from Wisconsin (or as Glen calls him,"Cheese." I walked with Annie down towards the market and we stopped at Joe Watty's on the way where a few folks she knew were playing music. She ran back to Mainistir house and got her fiddle then came to join in with the others. The played Irish tunes and Annie was very good at the fiddle. Loads of people were continuously crowding around and taking pictures of everyone. Afterwards I went to Spar and bought pasta to make dinner.

At 10:30 I went to Joe Watty's bar with Glen, Annie and Caroline. There were a couple of Hen parties (bachelorette parties on a whole other scale) so it was crowded and nutty. We all sat around and chatted. Eoin and his friends showed up as well so we got to have a chat too. I missed him that day. At 2am we went back and Glen made us Toasties (grilled/pressed sandwiches) with a curry chicken in them YUM. In the AM i got up for the breakfast, packed up and said farewell to my new friends. I got down to the ferry just before 11:30 and saw Eoin come up to bard so I was able to say goodbye. My ferry ledft at noon headed to Roseville. I got a bus from there to Galway where I was greeted with heavy rain, so I continued on to Sligo.

Sligo was not what I had been expecting, everything there is to see they say is only accessible by car not foot or bus. I decided to do wash, have dinner and hit the hay early. I was quite lucky to get a bed at the dingy White House, they were booked but some Hungarians let me share their room. This morning I got on with it and boarded another bus to Derry. Now here I sit in a lovely hostel in a cute town. Less than 2 days and I am out of Ireland, I am actually now in Northern Ireland, a whole other country which uses pounds and not Euros. (that means more expensive). My bus driver up here is also a comedian named Kieran, he was great fun. He is Will Smiths and the Fresh Prince's biggest fan he says. I think I believe him. He actually bumped the Will Smiths greatest hits CD on the bus ride. Hilarious! Ok, so all is well and I have been on this dang computer too long.

Love you all, enjoy the photos!
Cheers,
Erin



Additional photos below
Photos: 33, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



23rd July 2007

baby
thats why i named u ERIN :) so many lovely things, like u.
23rd July 2007

hi fishy
wow...ireland is so beautiful!!! you finally made it there after all these years...what an accomplishment! love and miss you! xoxo
24th July 2007

ahh!
you look like you are having the best time!!
29th July 2007

jealous
Looks like you are having an awesome time.Have a guiness for me and rock on

Tot: 0.158s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0585s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb