Computer.....FUNCTIONAL!


Advertisement
Published: July 5th 2005
Edit Blog Post

At the Castletroy Park HotelAt the Castletroy Park HotelAt the Castletroy Park Hotel

This is us at a meeting we were supposed to have with our professors that never happened. Miscommunication...
The past few entries have been ones that I transcribed from my notebook. This is the first live entry I've made thus far whilst in Ireland. My outlet adapters were in my checked bags, so I couldn't boot up my computer until they came into Limerick. So when they did, I was excited to get started on this blog. Unfortunately, as soon as I plugged the adapter in the wall, my laptop charger - which had already been on the fritz - blew out. It wasn't until today that I was able to replace it. But all is well. The mac is intact.

Yesterday was a strange day. It was our first day of class abroad and it was the 4th of July. We made the most of it though. In the evening we were hosted by a Limerick professor, who made a table full of fried food for us. The taste wasn't quite on, but the effort was incredible and immeasurably appreciated by our group. To top it off he had a great home and a wonderful family. It almost felt like being home. Plus they'd bought these weird straight Miller cans. Not MGD, not Miller Light, just Miller. Couldn't really taste a difference. I'm just glad it wasn't Bud.

Limerick continues to be a joy. We left class and got directly on the bus to head downtown for some exploring and shopping. Downtown Limerick is much bigger than any of us had expected. To top that off, there are plenty of pubs and a lot of shops. There are a lot of modern structures going in around the relatively old flats and architecture. It makes for an interesting look and evidences a forward-looking city. We took a detour and stopped off along the River Shannon to have a quick photo and enjoy the view.

We then walked to a well-established pub near the outdoor shopping district, called Charlie Chaplin's. I'll let you guess the theme. After a pint of Guinness, we headed back to do some more shopping before heading home.

Now that I've been here and I have the time to do so, I'll give you my take on Ireland so far:

Yes, the weather is pretty dreary. In fact I've been wet and cold pretty much since the moment we landed. It's actually a little absurd. We're forced to bring layers everywhere we go. I've gotten used to wearing a t-shirt, with a jacket over it, and bringing along an anorak for the rain. And on any given day I'll spend and equal amount of time wearing each. I'm not kidding. The temperature can change 30 degrees over the course of a half hour. And a dark gray sky will be pushed off by bright sun and blue skies in a matter of minutes. The clouds move extremely fast bringing constant climate changes. It sucks for the most part. But, as Professor Davis told me yesterday, "There's a reason why Ireland is so green". And he's right. I've never seen anything like it. Hopefully the picture from the plane gives you some kind of idea. You should see it in the sunlight. The colors are much more vibrant. It's breathtaking.

Yes, the Irish love their alcohol. But it isn't in the drunken brawl, headbutting, fooooootball hooligan way that they are portrayed in our culture. Instead, it's a social affair. They get drunk with friends, on occassions, and as a celebration. Granted, I still saw some old men drinking at the pubs in the middle of the day. But that's not something you won't see at a bar in the states. By no means are there stumbling drunks walking around downtown...at least not until the evening.

I'm sure I'll have more observations once I've had more time to soak in the culture.

But in short, I'm very happy, I'm healthy, and I'm enjoying every minute of being here.

Currently "In the Morning" by The Coral is stuck in my head and is becoming the first of the songs on my Europe Soundtrack. More to come...


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 47; dbt: 0.037s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb