Week 1


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Northern Ireland » County Antrim » Lisburn
September 25th 2009
Published: September 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

We traveled to the mournes on the thursday of week 1 where we were taught new skills e.g. How to take a magnetic bearing, pacing and how to map read well. For me, personally, It was a recap of skills I had already been previously taught. First off, we followed the "Trassy Track" and used our pacing skills to make sure we where walking the right distance to our first point. We then took a bearing from our first point to our second point and then used our pacing skills again. At our second point we went off the "Trassey Track" to find a sheepfold, using our skills in pacing, taking a bearing and reading a map. Once we all found the sheepfold we took a lunch break. After our lunch break we then travled to a river junction, 200m east of the "Trassey Track", in the "Trassey River". After reaching the 4th point we then traveled to the Path Junction below "Hare's Gap". After running over the skills we learn't today we then traveled back to the car park on the via the "Trassey Track". Today I renewed my team leadership skills and I felt I worked hard on letting others having their opinion, where as last time this would have been one of my serious flaw's. I believe I have deleveloped a good realtionship with the team and I seem to keep a good team moral. I would need to develop my communication skills somewhat for our next expedition, this includes listening and giving advice.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0335s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb