Antrim Coast (Giants Causeway)


Advertisement
Published: May 30th 2009
Edit Blog Post

TimmysTimmysTimmys

never tasted the same but i dont think i put enough milk an sugar so there ya go
Today I had to get up early for a full day tour up to the Antrim Coast 150 miles away. Not as early as Thomas who got up at 430 am but still. Got up in the morning with Tobias because he had to leave just as I did anyways on his way to work today. I made sure I had all the necessities for the weather and what not. You never really know with the weather. Got myself a Timmy's coffee can you believe they have it here!! Thomas says its his favorite as well and hopes that his friends will bring some back for him after there travels. Got to the International Hostel where the tour pickup was and checked in before jumping on board. I sat beside this girl who never said a word but just kept her attention towards her female friend beside her. The tour had three pickups through the city so we got a bit of a dialouge about Belfast as well. They told us about the clock tower and how it leans and the europa hotel how its the most bombed hotel in the world. Also they mentioned the most famous bar in Belfast,
Tobias's backyardTobias's backyardTobias's backyard

lovely aint it lotsa trust in these parts
the Crown which was owned by a Protestant woman and a Catholic man. Kinda funny how that worked anyway the story of the bar is the that they couldnt agree on what style of bar they would have. The man wanted an Irish bar with pipers and the whole bit, and the woman wanted a nice proper English bar all decorated to the nines. Well just as life usually proves women get everything they want in they end and the men have to deal with it! HAHAHA don't quote me on that or anything but I think i'm pretty close to the truth. The lady won and it became an English bar but the man insisted that they put a Crown on the front entrance so that everyone could stand on the Crown as they came and left. I did it as well.
We left at 1030 ish and got to our first destination the Carrickfergus Castle, which was mostly the extent of a nice bathroom break before a 2 hr long bus ride.
After that we arrived at Carrick-a-rede Ropebridge, which was simply stunning!!! I really couldnt believe this was Ireland. Not to mention it was another beautiful day out. Thank god for that cause it was misserable yesterday for the walk. We actually looked up the weather on the Ipod touch i was looking at at the apple store. I really gotta get one of those. The bridge was 7 Euros to get across so knowing my thrifty ways I wasnt gonna be caught dead doing that. You got the same experience on the hill just no ropes preventing your certain death.
After about an hour of that got back on the bus and headed for Bushmills whisky distillery. Started in 1608 its THE oldest licensed whisky distillery in the whole world. Unfortunately we didn't have time to do the full tour but we got the idea and looked around the place awhile. I actually went over to the store after to get some food so I didn't have to pay 16 dollars for soup and sandwhich which, all the other tourists were more than willing to do at the Giants Causeway. No beer though at this store which i was kinda choked about. First one that didnt have any go figure.
We got to the Causeway and everyone else headed in but I made quick friends with this one group of backpackers who were talking about coachsurfing two were Americans and one was Italian.
After abit of lunch we set off the three of us cause the Italian girl didnt want to hike. HA it was kinda windy but I was well prepared with my fleece coat and camelback. Hiked up the top part first. Amazing place. These pics are great sure but really you HAVE to see it with your own eyes. They say that in 20 years it will all be underwater due to Global WaRming!!! So hurry up you procrastinators. Time really flew by we took shit loads of pictures. Constantly asking ppl to take pics of the group of us. It was super funny, there is this giants boot on the beach and this family is taking like 100 pics posing beside it. I just started laughing my ass off and then i said try standing in front of it and this older woman starts like posing with the boot up her ass it was freaking hillarious. I even took a pic in front of it so it was kicking me in the nuts haha. We ran out of time quick and the bus driver told us he would be leaving even if ppl weren't there so we had to kinda rush back. It was perfect timing.
On the way home I passed out for most of it. Nice sleep in the sun but I woke up so sweaty and felt awful.
Got back to Tobias's place and he had just got home and had cleaned up the place a bit. He had a crap day at work so he was eager to get some drinks in soon. That was the plan. He even set up rules it was kinda like our own pub crawl. We werent allowed to pass a pub without getting a drink and no drink could be a single. HA wow that was expensive. I recall payin 14 euro for two doubles. OUCh especially for a cheapass like me. We met this older gent sitting by himself who had got himself a free meal somehow from the pub. The second place we went was called Auntie Annies!!! Yah mom your in my mind more often then you might think!! Then we went to another place and met this drunkard guy. Tried cheering him up. He worked for a cancer
Photo 6Photo 6Photo 6

Carrick-a-rede
clinic so he had seen it all. I dont think he had too good of a relationship with his family at all. I tired telling him to take some time to travel and he seemed to agree he should for sure but I dont think we cheered him up at all, so we left. Did i mention I paid like 25 dollars for two drinks ouch jesus. Then we went to this old pub by the Salmon rode!!! Stayed there till it closed and then went to meet up with my new buddy Edmond and his friends at a bar by Tobias's. Stayed there awhile. Long enough for Tobias to cause a bit of a disturbance amongst our new company haha. Then went to get a bite and went home for sleep.


Additional photos below
Photos: 58, Displayed: 26


Advertisement

boardwalkboardwalk
boardwalk

ha no thanks ill save my cash
whiskeywhiskey
whiskey

not whisky like they spell it in scotland
decrepit castle decrepit castle
decrepit castle

i loved this part we just stopped on the side of the road for this
bus drivers home townbus drivers home town
bus drivers home town

he said its one of the most photographed places in Ireland wish i had my skim


Tot: 0.229s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 15; qc: 74; dbt: 0.105s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb