Big Chill 2006, Mum comes to Londontown and a Cornish Experience


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England
September 20th 2006
Published: September 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

August was a huge month, so you can understand why it has taken me so long to write about it. We kicked off the month with some shenanigans at the Big Chill music festival (if this rings a bell its because I was there last year too), with 25 of our closest friends. It was a bit of a flat affair with 5 out of 6 of us attending, leaving James in charge of the ranch.
Anyway.. what can I say really? Great music like Coldcut, Egg, Jose Gonzalez, Michelle Y Rodriego, Mr Scruff, Arrested Development (oh yeah we're talking 1980's - Everyday People and Mr Wendle), Norman J..... too many to list or remember; Wicked company, and just crazy fun dancing, drinking, sitting in the sun and camping fun! To put a bit of a dampner on things I managed to catch a bug or something and spent the last night and next day (including the ride home) quite ill.
It was quite a special Big Chill too, as it was Si and my official 1 year anniversary! Bit sucky that I spent half the day ill.. ahh true love.. holding your partners hair back whilst they puke.
Anyway.. It was definately an event to remember.

Back in London and my mum has arrived for 6 weeks in the UK for "research". Great 10 days showing mum around, dining out in Soho, going to see The Lion King on the West End, A Comedy of Errors at Shakespeares Globe (definately a highlight), Borough Markets, Tower of London and just general touristy stuff. Through in a workmates (from Walkers - pub I was working part-time for) farewell and it was a busy month!

For the bank holiday weekend Si and I decided to hire a car and see Cornwall. After a mammoth drive (don't EVER take the M4 on a bank holiday weekend) and getting lost in the streets of St Agnes at 1am without mobile reception, we finally made it to our B&B. We were staying with Carol and Tony who were like your cool aunt and uncle, feeding you way too much food and catering to your every need. We spent the weekend exploring and drove most of Cornwall, Newquay, Perranport, St Ives, Penzance (well actually I think I slept through Penzance), Gwythians and most of the coast. I was surprised to see beautiful sandy beaches and crystal clear water, although not at all the children wearing wetsuit just to swim! Si managed to brave the cold and go for a dip but I liked my toes the colour they were. Visiting the Eden Project was a highlight. Enough Cornish pasties, and Cornish breakfasts.. and local seafood.. I need to fit into my bathers!

It was a great weekend, and a mini farewell, as I was off to Turkey with Kate and Simon was heading to Spain and Morocco with his mate Matt. Stay tuned for tales from Turkey.


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement



Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0352s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb