Gorgeous Granada


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain
October 13th 2006
Published: December 3rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

So when I first came back from travelling about 3 years ago I made a pact with my mum than when she went travelling again she had to visit Spain and I would come and visit her in Granada. That date was in September, and true to my word I popped down for a weekend to hang out with mum and Margaret in Granada. It worked out quite well because Si and Matt who had been travelling through Morocco and Spain were in town for half the weekend. I love the relaxed atmosphere in Granada, there is nothing else to do but get lost in the moorish streets of Alabacin, wander through the spectacular Alhambra, eat tapas and drink great Spanish wine! I'm fairly sure that sums up the weekend really!


Saturaday night was lovely, mum and Margaret had an apartment so we hung out there, had a nice home cooked meal, drank wine and played cards! Then the boys and I went for a couple more drinks at a nice bar down the road. More tapas - yummo!
Sunday morning the boys left early and mum, margaret and I wandered around, checked out a museum or two and did some shopping. I was flying out that evening, but little did we know about some random parade down the main street of town... for a good 6 hours! It was quite surprising to find that people were watching it, considering it consisted of loads of marching bands (which were more walking bands than anything) and regular people holding candles. Im sure its a very important and special parade and I've just insulted every Andalucian, but oh well! Anyway it made me really late and we had to trek half way across the city to the airport bus stop outside town. An average flight back to London, a ridiculous queue at Immigration and I'm cranky. Add into the mix that I missed the last Stanstead Express back to London and had to take the National Express Bus. I finally fall into bed at 3am. Fun weekend though, twas lovely to see mum again, chat to margaret and just get out of London.



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0446s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb