First Day in London


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England
September 9th 2014
Published: September 9th 2014
Edit Blog Post

I arrived in Enland and made it to my AirBnB accomodation in one piece, albeit a bit frazzled. Having arrrived and unpacked, met the wonderful people I am staying with and then promptly went to bed and slept for 13 hours without stirring.

Paul and Cori, my hosts, walked me down Portobello street (there are no "roads" in London proper) this morning to show me the way to Kennsington Park where I caught a sight seeing bus that traveled around (and I mean a round London) until I was dizzy. I got out at Fleet street and had lunch (which included a Guiness Stout) at Ye Old Chesire Cheese. I recieved a few looks from the all-male patrons, who finally figured I wouldn't bite and had quite a good time. I then went to St. Paul's Cathedral, London's first Anglican Church. They don't allow photographs however, but it is truly a place to behold. I made use of a taxi on the way home. I was tired of walking.

If you think Fort Collins has a lot of construction, times that by 100 and you have London. And its such a mixture of very old and very new. It makes for interesting sightseeing. Throw a huge river, the Thames, in there, and its a most amazing place to visit.

Tomorrow I plan on mastering the "Tube" or subway and making it to the Tower of London.

Advertisement



9th September 2014

September 9th
Sounds like you are having fun. Hope the new shoes serve you well. Mom and the Bagel miss you, as do I. Love you, Sis
10th September 2014

Hello!
Sounds like you are well on your way. Leave it up to you to find yourself in the middle of an important male-bonding moment. I guess they thought you were acceptable ;) Enjoy the Tube!
10th September 2014

welcome to London
I'm glad you are enjoying London. Don't spend too long down in the tube - there is nothing to see and although you get to places quickly you miss out on the "geting there". If you have the patience and the time to use the buses I would say it is worth the effort (and slightly cheaper!) Have fun!
10th September 2014

Active Intelligence
What a way to empower yourself, Lori! I am reading every bit of your adventure, eagerly awaiting your next entry as we prepare to head that way in a couple of weeks. I'm so proud of your self-reliance AND that you are actually blogging about your adventure! Surround yourself with "the Most Benevolent Outcome" each day and watch life unfold for you. Best wishes! xoxo

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0366s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb