Arriving in the UK


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England
July 20th 2006
Published: July 26th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hi Everyone,

Well I've been in England now for about a week and a half. My flight was good on the way over. Luckily the seat next to me was free so I was able to have a lie down and get a few hours sleep. I made my way to Hornchurch with my great aunt and uncle, about an hour from London. Getting the tube was interesting. It wasn't anywhere near as bad or scary as I thought it would be, but still amusing. I went to London for around 3 days and saw most of what I wanted to see. I've been to St. Paul's Cathedral (breathtaking), Trafalgar Square, St. James Park, the outside of Buckingham Palace (what a boring job the guards have. They walk 17 paces every few minutes and swap shoulders that the rifle's on), The Cutty Sark, the Greenwich Meridian line, St. Margaret's church next to Westminster Abbey (I was being stingy and didn't feel like paying 10 pounds) and Green Park. I think that's all. I'm yet to do the Tower of London and am thinking of waiting until winter as it's so crowded. I really want to spend a day there and don't want to rush it. I've read about it so much over the years and am thinking in winter it might be spookier as well.

Now I'm in Colchester visiting Trevor's (my step-father) sister, Pat. I'm staying here until the weekend and then I'm off to catch up with Jo in Reading and to see my second cousin in London. I'm having a great time but still get a bit scared at times. It's getting easier though. After seeing Jo I'll be heading to Kent hopefully, then down to Eastborne and Dover, then across to Cornwall and Devon and will try to get a job there. I'd like to see Penzance (only because it was a pirate area and it sounds pretty cool), then up and across to Glastonbury and maybe Stonehenge. That's the plan anyway and I'll keep you posted. Then maybe across the channel to Ireland then over to Scotland. Hopefully I'll be able to keep going from there.

I hope you're all well and taking care of yourselves.

Missing you all
Love Danielle




Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Roman WallRoman Wall
Roman Wall

This was across the road from the Tower and London
BobbieBobbie
Bobbie

London's unofficial tour guides
FieldField
Field

This might be boring to some people but I thought it was so pretty


Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0321s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb