Saturday 1st October – Roman Baths and Stonehenge


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England
October 1st 2011
Published: October 6th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Photo 2Photo 2Photo 2

The big Roman Bath
Up on time today to head into Bath and see the Roman Baths Museum. When we arrived there was a rather big queuu waiting to get in but luckily it moved rather quickly. We got a free Audio Guide with our entry so we were able to hear about the history behind each of the areas and there were also models made up to show what the original baths would have looked like. At the end of the tour our ticket also gave us a free sample of the spring water which I was really looking forward to because I was quite thirsty... we got our drinks, took one sip and put the cup down! It was hot water and really did not taste very plesant!
After our tour around the Roman Baths we found some lunch then made our way to Stonehenge. As much as people say it is just a pile of rocks and nothing flash I really like it. We got another free Audio Guide with this entrance too. On our way round we stopped and sat down so I could try and clean my camera as it is not looking so good (Daniel and Monique – you
Photo 3Photo 3Photo 3

The Thermal Spring bath
are not allowed to enlarge the photos and especially look into the sky!!!!!) - I will be visiting Daniel when we get home to get him to help me clean and fix it! Anyway after a pile of photos and wandering around the site we were back on the road to head back into London.
We arrived in Guildford at about 7pm so we had some tea then went for a drive to find somewhere to do laundry. I had to stand outside of McDonald's to use their free Internet to find an address. Along the way I happened to glance down at the GPS unit and it said 'York Street' which is the street Monique and Daniel lived down so we stopped to have a look at the front side of the flat building before carrying on to find our laundry place. At 8.50 we managed to find one and walked in to read the signs saying 'Laundrymat closes at 9pm. All machines will automatically shut off'. Well looks like we aren't doing any laundry then doesn't it?!?!
Anyway we headed back to our hotel room for the biggest repack yet (Nicole was on her own this time!)... I
Photo 4Photo 4Photo 4

Stonehenge
loaded everything onto our double bed and there wasn't a lot of room to move. I seem to have doubled/tripled my wardrobe since leaving home and I just don't know how that happened!!!! :P I don't see any issues... yet... as long as I can still fit it all in!
Well after this tiring exercise it was time for bed!
Sad to be 'officially' leaving Europe tomorrow!
Love you all,
XX


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Photo 5Photo 5
Photo 5

Stonehenge again
Photo 6Photo 6
Photo 6

Steve and I at... Stonehenge
Photo 7Photo 7
Photo 7

More Stonehenge


Tot: 0.259s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0596s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb