Day 5 (Edinburgh-Hethersgill)


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England
April 9th 2009
Published: April 9th 2009
Edit Blog Post

First we feel we should update all on the 'hit the dirt' league table: Gem 3, Goff 2, Gabe 0, Joe 0, Matt 0.

Tough day again today with the wind directly in our faces (as usual) and strong (as usual). Goff particularly looking to finishing this leg as we come into England!!!! The day started with a parking ticket in Edinburgh but thankfully finished in The Bridge (the first pub in England) We had to go over the Borders (great views but hardwork) Champagne moment: Joe was desperate for a number 2 but was struggling to find any civilization!! Imagine our surprise when we then came across a Tibetian Monastry in the middle of the borders!! Finished in the dark again and ending up sat in front of log fire in our digs eating Pizza.

Day 6- Genarally another toughy with members of the team really feeling it today! Eating too late doesn't give you the energy required. Today took is over the lake district but the driving rain in our faces and wind meant we didn't get to see much! Went through Kendall and Joe picked up a puncture. Puncture count is only 2 so far so can't complain about that. Weather slowed us again and finished in dark but not as late as yesterday. Gem and Matt knocked up a decent chicken pasta number and we are all ready for tomorrow little jaunty through Lancashire down to Church Minshull.



Advertisement



10th April 2009

Down with Parking Wardens
Good to hear from you again. Can't believe you got a parking ticket. Too much information there about Joe's bodily functions though. Should have plenty of energy tomorrow after the pasta dish; well done Gemma and Matt.
10th April 2009

So you think its tough
Having read all your comments on how demanding this cycling lark is, I thought it only right to find out for myself what it’s all about. Spent 5hrs clearing the garage to find my trusty Raleigh Roadster (circa 1950) dusted it down checked the tyre pressures which was surprisingly good for solid tyres, oiled the chain, well Vaseline actually couldn’t find the 3 in 1 and generally prepared my machine for the journey. As this was a fact finding exercise I decided on a rather demanding route to our local Tesco Express and also because we needed some milk, its a gruelling 1017 yards uphill (their and back) Decided cycle clips weren’t necessary as I was wearing shorts and with great enthusiasm set off down the drive to the main road. First problem, couldn’t find second gear but decided to carry on regardless as I had two others anyway, pushed on despite strong wind in my face only to realized it was because I was going down hill, negotiated the difficult right hand turn into Springvale road the wind had dropped significantly now I was on the flat and I was feeling quite comfortable as I cruised past the hazardous entrance to the King Charles pub however was a little concerned when sum maniac whizzed pass me on a mobility chair causing me to collided with the bus stop. Wasn’t hurt to badly thank goodness just grazed my knees a bit, fortunately I was able to salvage some Vaseline from the chain which I applied to the wounds. Checked my bike all seemed to be OK front wheel a bit buckled and a saddle spring broken but nothing to serious. Things were getting quite tough as I continued and I was beginning to feel some sympathy for you guys when I noticed a elderly woman with a dog walking towards me, I slowed down a bit as I passed not wanting to alarm her when suddenly the dog leapt at me sinking its teeth into my ankle as I fell to the ground, the lady got very aggressive towards me hitting me several times with her walking stick accusing me of provoking her pet. Pulling its tail I managed to wriggle myself free of the dogs maulers only to realize it was in fact a cat, the lady hit me several more times with her stick and the walked off threatening to report me to the RSPCA. Picking myself up knees cut and grazed, ankle bleeding profusely, back and shoulders aching from the beatings, my thoughts went straight to you guys and the mammoth task you have set yourselves, you should all feel very proud of what you are doing, such a difficult challenge and when you have completed your journey all the pain and suffering will become a distant memory but the achievement is unique and will last for ever. Good luck for the rest of the journey and I look forward to seeing you all at Lands End on Wednesday. As for my journey I phoned my mate Willy, he came and got me in his van and took me home, and the bike, is back in the garage for good.
10th April 2009

joglers
to the cardff joglers fantastic lads one country down one to go so head down and haul ass.
11th April 2009

Arrival of ATeam
We are about to set of from Penarth any minute now to join you in Ludlow this evening, looking forward to seeing you there, have a good day.

Tot: 0.354s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.267s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb