BRIGHTON


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England
April 5th 2009
Published: April 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

A few weeks ago I ventured out of central London for a relaxing day by the beach. Now as an aussie, I have expectations of what a day at the beach would look like, sun, surf, sand and lots of people walking around in skimpy bikinis and shorts. While teaching over here, I have had many conversations with many students about their favourite summer past times and all of them love going to the fun fairs. Innocently, I had no idea what they spoke about or where I would find such a place. But on my visit to Brighton I soon discovered that my image of the beach is very different to the english and I visited my very first Fun Fair.
The day began at about mid day. I met Jenny, Basil, Pete and Jon at London Bridge station and we took about a one and a half hour train ride south to the UK's most famous beach. We arrived there around 2pm and headed straight to the pub. There was a reason for our visit as the guys were meeting a friend for his birthday. I was the tag along! We met the friend.... I can't remember his name (sorry) then headed down to the beach.
Man, I could not wait. After months of snow and freezing weather I was finally going to see some rays and waves. As we got closer and closer I could see the the suns reflection on the water and loads and loads of people everywhere. Some even wearing thongs and t-shirts. This was going to be very exciting............. then I got there! Pebbles, pebbles and more pebbles. No swimmeres only people sitting on the beach and some very crazy surfers. Not sure what they were going to catch as the water looked pretty flat to me. I remember a conversation along the lines of....'oh. you don't go in the water.......it's far to cold!'
We opted for some really greasy fish and chips on the beach, I mean pebbles. Did I mention that it was really yummy and a massive serving. I could not help but feel guilty about eating such a greasy meal in a location where looking trim and terrific is so important. But fortunatley for me there would be no bikini revealing at this beach.
After lunch on the beach we went for a casual stroll along the Promenade. This was
Petes Feet in the 'sand'Petes Feet in the 'sand'Petes Feet in the 'sand'

ha ha ha Where is the sand? I miss home!
not my idea of a casual stroll as Petes idea of slow is very different to mine. But after passing a few buskers and artists and Johnm got his photos of the transvestite we landed at the Brighton Pier and the fun began. As a child, the Fun fair would be the equivalent of the St Gertrudes annual fete or Time Zone. The hall was lined with Pin ball and slot machines, coin collectors, fairy floss and stuffed toys. A childs (expensive) paradise. Jenny and I were in hysterics over the sight of grown men on plastic horses giving their all to thrust their way to the finsh line of a horse race. After and quick exit we headed to the big gun rides: a magnificant carousal, ghost train and roller coaster. I was suprised to discover that I only just made the height restriction. After a few photos we headed back to the main streets and walked to the royal Pavillion www.royalpavilion.org.uk. This was a beautiful building with indian and chinese influenced architecture right in the middle of an english garden. An interesting and unexpected sight. Then it was pint time again and we found our way to a
The GangThe GangThe Gang

well most anyway...... Pete, Jon. Me and Jenny
church converted into a pub with a large screen to watch a rugby match. Of course I watched none of the game..... he he he. We began the journey home late afternoon and I was certainly ready to head back to big city. It was a lovely day but made me think of Bondi lots and lots. We are sooooo lucky to live near such beautiful beaches that I certainly take for granted.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

English Pride English Pride
English Pride

One of their better days


Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0236s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb