Always in my heart <3


Advertisement
United Kingdom&#039;s flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England
October 24th 2008
Published: October 24th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Dressed for homeDressed for homeDressed for home

Bobbi and I in our traditional dresses, ready to go home
(Apologies for not writing here in a while!)
Following on from my last blog, Bobbi and I made our way to the YWCA hostel, after leaving our main big bags at the SYTO office. The rooms were really cheap there, about 4 GHc (£2) per night. There were only Ghanaian women staying there, most of them studying at a University nearby. Although the quality of the place (especially the bathrooms) was not great, I enjoyed being surrounded by friendly Ghanaians. Bobbi and I had a room mate, a young lady only a couple years older than us. After our mini holiday at Green Turtle Lodge, this was my last 'cultural' experience in Ghana. I am glad I stayed at the YWCA, despite the conditions of the hostel. It is a more cultural experience, staying among Ghanaians (and a way f getting to know them). It made me realise how much I was going to miss Ghana. Bobbi gave her mosquito net to our room mate before we left. She had never had one before and was over the moon with her present! Most Ghanaian people really appreciate the little things you give them 

On Sunday (29th June), Bobbi and I haggled for our last souvenirs near Koala Supermarket in Accra. Just a few hours before our flight home, my flip flops broke. Typical! So I had to buy new shoes (which also broke!!) My Ghanaian friend Cornelia happened to be Accra that day, so we met up and had drink together before SYTO drove Bobbi and I to the airport. I hadn't realised how much of an impact I had made on my Ghanaian friend’s life! She told me she had missed me so much while I was away on my mini holiday. I gave her my last Ghanaian cedis to help her with her nursing diploma. She cried when I left and kept calling me until I was through the security at the airport. I have been told that the friends you make in Ghana will always want to be in contact with you, they are like extended family members.
At the airport Bobbi and I found some German girls who had been at Royal Seed taking the same flight back as us! One of them had been in Ghana for 6 months and was very emotional to leave the beautiful country behind. We all knew she would find it difficult to settle back in her own culture. I thought I would too, but now I’ve been back in England for 4 months and I haven’t had the Western culture shock. I think the longer you are away from your home country (and have enjoyed your trip abroad), the more difficult it is to come back. I still miss Ghana sometimes. I miss their unusual food, particularly yam; the friendly warm people, and the slow chilled-out pace of everyday life  Oh and the cheerful music in the bumpy tro tros! I still avoid using my left hand if I can, and I can’t help but feel slightly offended by people who offer me things with their left hand lol! Most of all I miss the children of Royal Seed. My Ghanaian friend, who works as a nurse in the weekends there, told me they have had over 20 new children since I’ve left!
I am planning on doing a presentation about my trip to Ghana and working at Royal Seed, in January at the school I used to go to. I would like to raise £500 for finishing the dormitories and dinning room, as well as beds, mosquito nets and fans (as it gets very hot in the children’s rooms). I will probably do a raffle too, with Ghanaian gifts as prizes. I am quite nervous about this, as there will be a few hundred people present!

If anyone would like to donate money to Royal Seed, either send me a message here or go to their website http://www.royalseedhome.co.uk/ which was created by an ex-Royal Seed volunteer 

Thank you to everyone who has enjoyed reading my blogs, sent messages while I was away and left comments 😊 Very much appreciated!

Happy travels :D


PS I might be going to Thailand next summer, so more blogs then!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.125s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0718s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb