A short trip to London


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England
October 26th 2004
Published: October 26th 2004
Edit Blog Post

Big Ben and meBig Ben and meBig Ben and me

from the bus
Yesterday, my Graphic Communications class went to the Barbican in London for a \"Communicate\" exhibit. I guess for a Graphic Designer, it would be heaven; for me, it was a nice display of catchy book covers and magazines. No doubt, these guys are extremely talented. I have, however, learned that I like to practice fine art more than Graphics. My fellow students and my tutors are very precise and formulate every mark. I am completely the opposite when it comes to art and therefore I find it very difficult to relate. I did, though, get some ideas for photography manipulation from the exhibit, and it was great all in all. London itself was very fun. We only had a few hours to play, so we went to Camden Town Market! There were clothes and shoes as far as you could see on the street. Being there and riding the subway reminded me of New York City, making me miss it. The subway cars are much nicer, though, and there are far fewer deranged people about. Instead of the plastic orange planks usually covered in Coke or urine in New York, there are carpeted individual seats in every car! Wow. As we walked through the marketplace, there were what seemed like thousands of little sidestreets to explore. In one alleyway, there were about a dozen food stands with neon lights. As you walk through this culinary Las Vegas, you are screamed at by the vendor\'s, hoping to procure your business. The one that won me over was a tiny Korean woman who called me \"Darling.\" The food (veggie curry) was amazing. As we drove out along the River Thames, I could see all of the beautiful buildings and the London Eye lit up brightly. The architecture in London is varied and interesting. I saw an apartment block designed by William Morris! I wish I could\'ve gotten a picture. I really look forward to going back to London and having more time to explore. Walking to the bus that morning at 6.45 am was a great experience. Things are always different at that hour of the morning. It was dark and peaceful and electric.
It smells like burning firewood outside today, so I\'ve opened my window. I\'m attempting to write my essay for Literature class. As you can see, I\'m distracted. I\'ve eaten an entire bag of grapes. I skipped school today for the first time; it was a much needed break. My American Bush-supporting roommate has given up defending her position. Now, when asked why she\'s voting for Bush, she says, \"It\'s personal\" and her hands start shaking. I think we both feel pressure from all of the Europeans. Must work on essay, must work on essay....
G*
*the pronunciation of the letter \"h\" here is \"hach\" as in \"hate\" with a \"ch\" on the end.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Little Vegas-so much varietyLittle Vegas-so much variety
Little Vegas-so much variety

"Here here!" "Delicious.. you can try!" "Over here darling!"
From the Barbican exhibitFrom the Barbican exhibit
From the Barbican exhibit

It says, "The Hole in the ozone layer has moved"
Also from BarbicanAlso from Barbican
Also from Barbican

It says, "The corporate vermin that rules america." The bugs surrounding are Powell, Rumsfeld, Cheney, etc. with their corporate affiliations close beside.
At Chumley's pubAt Chumley's pub
At Chumley's pub

Last weekend with Aina. She will take me in for Christmas in Norway!
Chumley's pubChumley's pub
Chumley's pub

with the girls
Chumley'sChumley's
Chumley's

Fride, also from Norway, and Vincenzo from Italy


Tot: 0.401s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0359s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb