Brighton days


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England
August 27th 2004
Published: August 27th 2004
Edit Blog Post

So it’s time for a weekly instalment!
 Settling into Brighton has been pretty easy. It really is reminiscent of Melbourne in many, many, ways. My house is great, and so too are my housemates – which comes as a great relief. But I tell you it is amazing that 7 people live in one house, but you are lucky to interact with any given two each night!
My first Saturday here I was I woman on a mission – shopping for home wares! Well to be specific, bedroom things to make my room look like mine and not a Spartan wasteland. I wanted to feel like I was going home each night. So it was time to hit the North Laines – the uber trendy section of Brighton. Filled with street vendors, cutting edge concept stores, young local designers, flea markets, cafes and restaurants all squeezed in these tiny lane ways! Someone mentioned in my ear that it is apparently still summer here – yeah right! But anyway, because of this, there are still a lot of tourists around, so this place is an absolute madhouse on the weekends!
So on my mission I went, and was completely satisfied by my bounty which included the prized possession of a mahogany pot cupboard I found in the back recesses of a flea market/bric-a-brac store for the top price of £25, so much cuter than anything else I had been looking at. A lamp, mirror, lots of candles, a wind chime, incense burner and the recently added picture frames and cd player and I finally have my cosy new abode. Naturally it all matches in a wonderful shabby chic manner and I finally feel like I am living here, and not an interloper in a sleeping bag on a mattress on the floor! But even as I am settling into this room, in only a matter of 10 days I shift rooms within the house again. Although it is for a larger double room with great views and bay windows, so something I am more than willing to suffer for!
Funnily enough, my first weekend in Brighton and I was heading back to my somewhat spiritual home in England – Guildford. Dave and Karen, mutual friends from back home where over on holidays and staying with Liz and Paul. Did we need any other excuse to drink champagne and red wine once again – naturally not! At this point I will make the side comment that the English rail system really does suck, and even more so when you are trapped at Gatwick on a Saturday night for an hour, because your last train stopped randomly half way, then you missed your connection by 90 seconds! Hmmmm you have to laugh at it, or you may just cry. But each train disaster is teaching me another lesson in caution!
One hangover and a pub lunch in Guildford later I was back in Brighton, sporting my terrific new tracksuit pants and watching the men’s 100m final with my housemate Rich. You know, there is just not the obsession for the Olympics here as there is at home. I firmly suspect this is because the Brits are resigned to the fact that they suck at most sports!
On Monday it was decided that I would go for a drink or two with two of my housemates – Dean and Kevin. Aiy! It sounded brilliant at the time. Get to know the lads and enjoy the most divine cocktails at the enticing price of 2-for-1. Delicious, decadent, and deadly when you haven’t had dinner and you try to keep up with two guys who work as bar men! By 10pm I was gone, I could barely move from the gorgeous brown leather couch. In to a taxi and homeward bound I went……….. ahhhh hangovers at work are so much fun. At least my line manager wasn’t in to see it! Although being sent a text photo of the cocktails the next day is more than a little nasty!!!!
After that the week has been fairly quite and oh so domestic. Joining the gym, buying a CD player, picking up my bedside table etc etc etc. But that all changes tonight. Tonight I  am off to Amsterdam. The city of sex, drugs and diamonds. And I can’t hardly wait to let you know all of those sordid stories………………..
 
 

Advertisement



Tot: 0.162s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0786s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb