Salisbury.


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Wiltshire » Salisbury
October 11th 2012
Published: October 11th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Such a cute little town!! The countryside on the way here is incredible. I feel like I am in Harry Potter. It's rainy and foggy and SO GREEN! I bought my train ticket to Stonehenge and had some time before it left so I walked around the city a little bit.

*Side note- Remember how I was so proud of all that I could fit in my "pack-pack"...? Well. Let me just tell you how amazing it feels to be carrying around 30ish pounds on your back plus 15ish on your arm. It's awful. I was near tears today just walking around with what soon begins to feels like an 80lb man on your back. Awesome.

Back to the city. Salisbury is located about 2 hours outside of London in Wiltshire. It's divided into two areas: New Sarum and Old Sarum. Old Sarum is a big fortress-type hilltop city that was used during wartime. Salisbury is a big military site, still used to test aircraft carriers, helicopters, etc for the British Air Force. New Sarum isn't really "new." It's buildings were built in all different centuries so they all look drastically different. Even on the same road you can see so many different types of architecture. The Salisbury Cathedral has one of the tallest church spires in England and is gorgeous. One of the four copies of the Magna Carta is kept here. I didn't have time to go inside but I did walk around the gardens near it and made some duck friends.

*I have TONS more pics on my other camera but don't have my computer cord for it so I will have to add those later.

Next stop: STONEHENGE


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 14; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0643s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb