T minus twelve days...


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Wiltshire » Pewsey
February 12th 2010
Published: February 13th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Sophie out of swimSophie out of swimSophie out of swim

Sophie coming out of the swim, representing Norfolk Island at the Triathlon World Championships - September 2009
So, it is now only twelve days until I go to Australia (with Uncle Richard) for 3 weeks.
I shall explain all, as I don't know how much everybody knows.

Sophie is competing in Ironman New Zealand this year on 6th March (which also happens to be her birthday)! Ironman is one of the (if not the) toughest triathlons that you can do. It involves swimming 2.4 miles, then getting on your bike and cycling 112 miles and as if that wasn't enough, after all of that, you get off the bike and then run 26.2 miles (an entire marathon!) Just out of interest, the fastest woman ever to compete in Ironman New Zealand did it in 8 hours, 17 minutes in 1987!

Anyway, Sophie has NO idea that I am coming to support her. She knows that Uncle Richard is coming to stay and will be going to New Zealand to watch her compete in Ironman.

My flights were booked on 20th October 2009, which means that so far Dad, Richard and I have managed to keep this a surprise for a whole 115 days (or nearly 4 months!) Hopefully we can last another 12 days without
Bike transitionBike transitionBike transition

Sophie running with her bike, about to start the run.
giving it away!

Sophie's face is going to be an absolute picture when she sees me walking through the arrivals doors at Brisbane airport on 26th February. I just can't wait to see her reaction. We both cried so much when I left last September and I know she really wants me to go back and visit some time... She won't have to wait long... not that she knows it!

We have lots of things planned for this trip as it will be Richard's first visit to Australia. I will make sure that I keep everyone updated regularly and I will try my hardest to upload lots of photos for you all to look at :-)

In the nearer future I am very excited about going to the Isle of Wight for a night next weekend with my wonderful boyfriend as he is currently in Canada and only arrives back in the UK on 20th February, only 4 days before I abandon him for 3 weeks! Sorry :-( xx

I'm sure I will be back on here writing another blog entry before I leave :-D

For the future, from the past: Hello Sophie, if you are reading this then it means that I am in Australia and I am really hoping that when I turned up at the airport it was a complete surprise for you (a really good one I hope) and that you are happy to have me supporting you while you complete this AMAZING feat. Lauren xxxxx

Bye for now everybody :-D x


Advertisement



Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0451s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb