Jolly ol' England


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Wiltshire » Amesbury
June 19th 2013
Published: June 19th 2013
Edit Blog Post

I honestly didn’t know what country Stonehenge was in, seriously I knew it was in England but I didn’t really know like where abouts. I happened upon finding out it was only like an hour or so ride from the city, so I had to go see this. I set out and I am like 5 miles outside the city just cruising along on the M3 and my bike all of a sudden freaks out and starts running like crap so I freak out and grab the clutch and kill the engine and make my way to the curb. After like 30 seconds of examining the bike I see the spark plug boot has come off the rear plug. So I crimp it tighter and reconnect and I am back on my way breathing a sigh of relief as I move along.

The road out to Amesbury was a pretty nice ride; it was scenic and relaxing, even though I took the motorway. I finally arrived at Stonehenge and I saw it from the road and I was amazed at what I saw it was just so cool looking. I didn’t want to pay for something I could see from
The Prime MeridianThe Prime MeridianThe Prime Meridian

Naturally i had to stand off to one side of the Prime Meridian
the road for free, but I figured eh I should support the site and maybe I’ll get some better views. And to my surprise when you pay the entry fee it comes with a free walking guide handheld thing. I had to hold it to my ear the whole time but it was full of fun facts about the site and I was glad I decided to go inside the gate. Apparently they still don’t know why exactly that it was built at its current location but that just adds to the cool factor of the whole thing. After I made my way around the whole site and learned all kinds of cool stuff I headed out and made my way back to London. Now I don’t know where exactly it was along the road but somewhere on the M3 I saw a formula 1 looking race car driving down the road going the opposite direction. It was so strange it took me a minute to actually realize what I had just seen. Once at the hotel for the night I took the tube to Soho and went pub finding again. This time I found a place that served fish
MI6MI6MI6

What kind of Bond fan would I be if I didn't go see MI6
and chips with mushy peas so that made it all the better. That really ends the day for that day.



The next day was good it was another clear day in London; this seemed odd to me as they always say it rains like every day there. I wasn’t complaining though because I walked everywhere. Today I wanted to see where Greenwich Mean Time (GMT) started and all. I took the tube out to Greenwich Park and the Royal Observatory and there it was a huge clock with the time the world uses. Right below it was a block with different measurements on it for back in the day people would bring up things for measurement to sell or whatever and it was an exact scale all measurements were based off of. Inside was the prime meridian of the world and I totally had to see that. So I was standing at 0 degrees, 0 minutes and 0 seconds longitude and how cool is that? I mean it’s so simple but still cool it’s something I can say I did and that is what matters. Inside the observatory there is all kinds of things relating to clocks
Greenwich ClockGreenwich ClockGreenwich Clock

This is the clock that most time is based off of. You may know the term GMT this is where it is.
and time and how and why and what we use for time keeping. It was another really cool thing to see, I kinda geeked out in that place because it was so scientific and awesome. Finally after I finished seeing all the amazing clocks in there I mean A LOT of clocks I made my way out and headed down the hill back to the city only to see the biggest ship in a bottle ever. At the national maritime museum outside there it is just sitting there. It was really cool and I wanted to go inside there but it was almost closing time, apparently I spent too much time looking at time. So I made my way to a Mexican food place there in Greenwich and it was really good food like really good. It was odd though because I was the only one there it wasn’t early so I dono why that was so but whatever I didn’t care it was great and I LOVE Mexican food. I found my way to a few more pubs there in Greenwich before moving along to somewhere on the tube line where I got off. I don’t remember where it
Aurora Pyramid of HopeAurora Pyramid of HopeAurora Pyramid of Hope

296 naturally colored diamonds and it took over 25 years to collect.
was but I had asked people before where I could find fish and chips served in newspaper. and they told me up in the northern areas they still do so all I remember is going north on the tube and getting off at a random stop and finding a few more pubs till they showed me a street vendor that did fish and chips in newspaper. And because I was so happy I gave the guy like £10 extra just for the fact it was in a newspaper and it tasted amazing I was so happy, and pretty buzzed. I was really glad I had a prepaid tube card and a tube map in my pocket at all times because I know I used it a lot once I got messed up. I eventually made my way to the hotel but I dono how.



My next day started later than normal but I didn’t care I was on holiday. I wanted to go see the natural history museum s I took the tube to Soho and walked to save money on tube fares. I was glad I did this because as I was walking to the museum I found a parking lot for some houses and I realized I was in the rich part of the city. The cheapest car there was a newer Jaguar, I mean there were Porsche, Jaguar, Maserati, Ferrari, Lamborghini, even a few Rolls Royce it was really cool I kinda took my sweet time walking through this area just enjoying the views. Eventually I found my way to the museum and there was a line so I found a place at the end. It moved quickly so I was pretty happy with that, and it was free entry donations only. So I tipped on my way out as it should be you pay for what you feel you saw. This place was really cool I mean I could go on for days about how many different things I saw in there. But I’ll just focus on the main cool things. Like they have this section called the vault and it really is, the exhibit is inside a huge vault and I understood once inside. They have some of the biggest and diverse collections of gems and precious metals in there. The aurora pyramid of diamonds was really cool it has I think 250 different diamonds on it and they are all different colours and it is on a timer with a UV light that shows an entirely different colour than they were before it was so cool. Other areas had fossils and cool stuff like that the bird area was really cool it had a bunch of taxidermy birds and people were marveling over the American birds while I was focused on the European birds so there were never many people in the way of the cool birds I had never seen which made it all the better. There was a section on bugs that was cool because since it was bugs the traffic was thin and there were no queues to see anything. There was a section on prehistoric animals and they had a rack from a giant deer and I thought moose were big but this rack was so big if you put it on a moose it would tip over forward freaking HUGE I tell ya. But anyway it was an awesome museum to see and I totally would go back if I visit London again. Ended pretty much the same as every other night finding my way home messed up.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.128s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0936s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb