Coventry


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » West Midlands » Coventry
September 6th 2012
Published: October 6th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Thursday September 6 – Coventry

Today Con took me to the train station in Coventry and I bought a ticket for Monday the 10th for the train which will take me from Rugby station near Coventry to Holy Head to catch the ferry to Ireland. It will leave Monday morning at 9AM and I will go from Rugby to Crewe. There I will transfer to the train from Crewe to Holy Head. I have been allowed a full 11 minutes to go from one end of the station to the other to transfer trains so that is certainly plenty of time.

When I get to Holy Head I will catch the ferry across the Irish Sea to Ireland. I will disembark in Dun Laoghaire and then will take the train to Connolly Station in Dublin and walk over to Busaras Station where I will catch the X20 bus to Dublin Airport and hopefully meet up with Christy. Then we will take the X20 bus to Ballinasloe.

Sounds simple enough……

I had considered taking Ryan Air but the luggage restrictions were so severe I decided to take the train and ferry instead......besides riding a ferry again will be an experience in itself.
After getting my ticket for the train Con dropped Christy and I off at the city center and went home. Christy and I explored Coventry again this time visiting the museums that had been closed yesterday when we went to the city center. We also revisited the old Coventry Cathedral which had been destroyed by the Germans in an air raid in WW 2.

After touring Coventry we took a taxi to Christy’s brother Willie and visited with him a few hours. After that we took a taxi back to Con and Phil’s and had supper. Phil fixed up some delicious seafood chowder.


Additional photos below
Photos: 28, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Coventry CathedralCoventry Cathedral
Coventry Cathedral

Coventry Cathedral was destroyed by German bombing during the war


Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 11; qc: 32; dbt: 0.036s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb