Waldronhyrst, South Croydon - Last minute preparations


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Surrey
April 25th 2010
Published: April 25th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Sunny Waldronhyrst


Hello everyone.

Welcome to my first ever travel blog. Most of you know a fair bit about this little jaunt of mine as I have been merrily banging on about it for a considerable time now. I make no apology for that as I think it is actually a jolly interesting thing to talk about. Today I'm completing my final 12 hour work shift and I can tell you it will be a nice feeling walking out that door in a few hours time. I've been lucky enough to go to plenty of interesting places around the globe in my life but I have never really done anything like this before. This is a proper backpackers trip! Ok, it's only 9 weeks I hear you say but please remember this is the boy who has been cosily aboded in trusty Croydon for 36 years!

Well, the packing is complete, cat feeding duties delegated appropriately and housemate Jon fully conversant with Waldronhyrst's gadgets (apart from the light switches but I didn't have time for that). All that's left is a night's kip and then I'm on that deluxe X26 from West Croydon to Koh Phangan, those 2 destinations should never really be used in the same sentence me thinks.

The FCO have advised against all but essential travel to Bangkok for the moment. Well this is essential, I need to escape Croydon. In all seriousness I won't be in Bangkok itself for a couple of weeks and transitting the airport enroute to the southern islands is deemed safe for the moment. Tommorow I fly to Bangkok and all being well will meet my good buddy Dazza at the Bangkok Airways desk for our onward flight to Koh Samui. From there it's the ferry to Koh Phangan and 4 days of civilized relaxation. Cancel that, this is the full moon party island we're talking about and I've got a feeling there could be a full moon sometime very soon...

I will try and update this blog as often as possible but quite honestly I don't intend on spending the next couple of months in a stuffy internet cafe full of smelly backpackers. Hopefully I'll be able to entertain you a little anyway as I'm quite sure it's gonna be an adventure! For now I'm making those last minute mental notes to self, passport, cash and of course lucky Palace pants for the flight as we've a big big game whilst I'm in the air! 😊

rich


Advertisement



25th April 2010

Lucky git
Rich, I'm so jealous. You with your last minute packing, Me, I'm trying to set up my home office as I start my new job tomorrow. The equipment arrived this morning. Two moniters, no less than 2 complicated phones ( I know women can multitask so much better than men but I don't think I can take two calls at once. I'm surrounded by millions of wires - god knows where they all plug into and I've already used all the sockets in 2 x 5 way extentions and by the way the internet connection doesn't work. Waiting for a call from the IT geek. What else can I say other than "have a great time, keep safe and beware of the lady-boys". Look forward to hearing from you along the way. All the best, Marilyn
25th April 2010

Gulliver travels
Love the blog. Lousy picture. Cook a nice meal for yourself tonight; its McDonalds after that followed by curry for the next few weeks. Good luck and loads of love x
25th April 2010

X26 to Koh Phangan?
You wish! If only you had the luxury of the X26 all the way to Koh Phanan eh?! Let's be realistic, it's a noisy coach to LHR, a dirty B744 of TG to BKK with a faulty entertainment system and broken seat recline. THEN, it's a luxury aeroplane in 1st class to Koh Samui and a cruise liner to Koh Phangan. Think on those lines and you'll love it! Just try to grin and bear the UK bit of your journey, particularly the start at West Croydon bus station, the high street in Cheam and the one way system of Kingston (road works included in price). Try not to think Palace (I mean Crystal Palace, not your final accommodation!) - it won't helop your state of mind in the jungle. Enjoy WacWonalds in Wangkok won't you! Just don't forget your anti-bacterial wipes (jungle box of 24,550 wipes). Enjoy your trip Rich, give my sympathy to Dazza for spending so long with you, and please take care. Lots of love Neil, Sandra, George and William xxxx PS. Triggs all send their love as do the van Wunniks! PPS. Great picture! x
26th April 2010

off you go...
hey rg, enjoy - i am very jealous as well, sitting here replying to you whilst staring out the window at the garden wishing the sun would make another appearance... i remember how excited i was when the departure date finally arrived, anyway safe travels...probably the most dangerous part of the trip will be getting out of croydon ! looking forward to the next installment.
26th April 2010

Have an awesome time son
Hope it meets all your expectations... You won't want to come bcack tho!
26th April 2010

Happy travels
Rich - have a great time, eat in the hawker centres with the locals, watch out for cats, rats, mossies and spiders! Lousy picture but the lamp will be useful in the backstreets and jungle. Have fun cuz x

Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0572s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb