Drive Me Crazy


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Surrey » Woking
January 23rd 2008
Published: February 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

The carThe carThe car

It's actually quite small!
I am a left-handed woman sitting on the right side of the vehicle driving on the left side of the road. It has been 146 days since I have driven a vehicle. I have had the luxury of going anywhere and everywhere on public transportation. All that changed with my new job. So, another new worker and I decided to split the cost of a car; at £387 per month, including insurance, it was a steal. Which brought to mind all sorts of images of an old car trundling down the idyllic suburban streets of Woking.

Monday morning, we made our way downstairs to the car park. A tall man stood by a small, shiny, red car. We signed the papers and he was on his way. We were left to park the car and get back to work, each of us secretly hoping that we would not actually have to use it.

Tuesday, I felt a little more confident. I knew I had some home visits later in the week, so I suggested to my colleague that we have a practice session. She nervously agreed. Being the one who has lived here longer, I went ahead and drove
Tomtom and MeTomtom and MeTomtom and Me

Keeping Britons safe from me one turn at a time!
first. I kept forgetting that I was supposed to be on the left-hand side, but my co-worker gently reminded me. I made it a half hour before she took over and drove, and only a half-dozen people honked at me!

The next week, we procured a Tom-tom navigational system. It is my new best friend. Because I can see the arrows pointing me in the direction I need to go on the round-about, I get no honks!

I did it. I drove in the UK!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0497s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb