Matt Joins the party


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Surrey » Kingston
October 28th 2008
Published: October 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So with my flight out of the way and nothing but good times ahead, I was taken to Andover for a short time of about 4 or 5 days I can't be sure exactly which. Everyone who resided in Andover seemed to have the same advice for me regarding the city...and that was to apologize for how crap it was. To be honest I found interest in every corner, course most of those who offered the advice had spent a large majority of their existence in the town (population approximately 1 million people...same population as the CITY of Calgary!) but I found tons of cool stuff. For Example, the church (pictures will soon follow, or see facebook albums) seemed to older than Canada! nice lush green fields surrounding the area, old fashioned streets and shops. The local pub, an old mill which still has water running through the midst of it. Although I guess me turning up in Andover and thinking it was a nice place is like anyone from Andover going to Black diamond and thinking it was interesting lol. So besides being in Andover I had a few productive days, one spent in an amusement park called "Thorpe Park" which was fun. Another in Stonehenge (I had no clue it was so close to Andover) and that was pretty amazing. For those rocks to be dated thousands of years old, and given the location they were brought from in Wales it is mind boggling to think of a method you could use to transport them other than modern technology such as cranes, trucks, etc. I even think your average sized crane would topple under the weight of those stone giants. After my visit to the "alien landing sight" ,if you believe that sort of thing haha, I was informed of the arrival of his majesty King Mathieus McGiver Orelious the 3rd (otherwise known as Matt...). Haha I don't know where that nickname came from I was just trying to take a shot at Matty. Anywho, I found my way into London where he awaited in Heathrow airport, a much more dawnting place than the Calgary airport which he came from. Sleepless and stiff, he still managed to stare in wonder the entire way home, asking questions and throwing in the occasional "wow this is unreal!" I think he might be just a little excited to be here but so am I to have him here with me. You don't get many chances to do these kinds of trips with one of your best buds and so I'm going to take full advantage, for the two weeks he's here anyways.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 12; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0179s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb