My "drive" through Central London, Riverboat and British Museum


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Surrey » Egham
July 18th 2009
Published: July 18th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Last night was the final Riverboat of Session1. My job basically entails driving a van into Central London, Lambeth Pier, dropping off a bunch of teachers with DJ equipment on a curb and then driving by myself to Festival Pier. All went as planned and I remembered the way by memory alone from last summer. I had a bit of trouble parking but flirted my way into a truckers lot. I then walked down to the pier and had a coffee while I waited for the boat to circle around. All was wonderful and we were dancing the night away, until one of the girls slipped on the stairs and cracked her head open. We turned the boat around and called the paramedics. About 6 of them showed up and called an ambulance (paramedics come by horse or something over here and then call the actual ambulance if necessary). I sent one of the guys along and we turned the boat around and went on with the cruise. Fortunately I suppose, I was called that the girl was getting her head glued and that I could pick them up (as opposed to a 200lb taxi ride). Well, that turned into utter chaos. Finding St. Thomas Hospital at midnight with my directions being "go to the big blue roundabout, take the third spoke, bang a few lefts and enter the high sided car park." This turned into "cross three london bridges, enter an underground ambulance bay, make a 3 point turn in the police station, ask a london red bus driver for directions, and end up parking 3 wings away from the actual emergency area." Hours later I finally made it to campus. I found out that the chaperones did a wonderful job of getting the kids to bed and ready for their flights home. Thus, my usual post of campus patrol was replaced by hospital/driving duty.

Instead of doing the typical airport run, I decided to chaperone the remaining 42 students to the British Museum and Oxford Street. Oxford Street in London on a Saturday afternoon requires Jersey elbows to maneuver the streets under the best of circumstances. Instead, I got a call that one of the kids was at the Boots Pharmacy with a fever. Too bad for me that there are 4 Boots from Tottingham Court to Marble Arch and I ran from one to the other until I finally found him. A few paracetmal later and he was buying a new Iphone. Hmmm ... that is the life.

I find that this summer I am spending much more time in London. My plan for tomorrow is to get in a van with some friends and head east ... to the coast of England. I am calling it "research" but really I want to get out of the city and spend some quiet time without kids. As much as I do love them, I need some time to myself.

Hope you are all enjoying the summer. It is cold here ... expecting some rain again tomorrow.
xoxo
Kim


Additional photos below
Photos: 49, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

087087
087

British Museum


Tot: 0.141s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 64; dbt: 0.0959s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb