Flatford Mill


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Suffolk » Flatford
November 4th 2010
Published: November 16th 2010
Edit Blog Post

26 October 2010

I awoke to a frosty morning - although that was a little difficult to discern as it was still dark. I was a little tired having been woken on a number of occasions by noisy owls - obviously they were discussing important matters but at three in the morning ? - please !!!

Showered and breakfasted by shortly after 7 I walked down to the mill and then followed the river a little way in both directions - quite enchanting in the first glow of the morning. I had been warned that the cows in a particular field were bad tempered but fortunately they ignored me and decided to launch a full frontal assault on a family of swans. The latter seemed to want to stand on the river bank but every time they attempted to land they were chased back into the water by some 20 or 30 cows. I was a little caught up in the action taking photos and failed to see the flanking action of a dozen or so cows who began to take too much interest in what I was doing. I beat a hasty retreat.

The weather deteriorated very quickly after that so by midday I found myself in a camp site a couple of miles outside Framlingham. My idea of a camp site - no facilities other than a water tap but only £4 for the night. Only one other van on the field so nice and peaceful and it is always interesting to be in the middle of a working farm - as long as the livestock are not too friendly. This is an arable farm with a few very friendly goats and chickens. Should be safe.



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.162s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0863s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb