A total day of Jane... could there be a better day?


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Somerset » Bath
September 10th 2008
Published: September 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I Have spent a total day of Jane and even though I have not been feeling 100% because, "My sore throats are always worse than anyone's. " ; ), I have still had a wonderful day full of Jane.

I started my morning at the Jane Austen Centre where I will shortly be giving talks in the next couple of weeks!!! AHHH I am very excited by this fact and yet very nervous because though i know most of the information it is still a little but intimidating to get up in front of a room full of strangers and talk. But if I had to pick one topic to talk about... it would be Jane Austen. OF COURSE!!
The Jane Austen Centre is such a lovely place and it is the people who work their that make it so endearing for me. I got to work in the shop today and help Jackie with planning the festival. Jackie and I went down to Queen Square to talk with a lady about the promenade and the market that will be taking place there. I also learned to my and Jackie's enjoyment that they have "tree officers" in England and the one's for Queen's Square are particularly strict. These officers make sure that the trees are treated well and that people dont go hacking away at them : ).
After working in the Centre for the rest of the morning I went to my Jane Austen class with Felicity James, who I adore. We continued to talk about 'Northanger Abbey' and its satire of the Gothic novel. It really made me want to go read 'Mysteries of Udolpho'. We also got to walk around Bath as a class looking at different places that Jane Austen mentions in both 'Northanger Abbey' and 'Persuasion'. We got to go see everything from the Pump Rooms to the Upper Assembly Rooms and many other cites that either Jane stayed in or that she mentions. We did not get to see 4 Sydney Place but I plan to go see it soon.

Tonight is also Lost In Austen and I plan on going to Nunes House to watch it with some girls again!
Its always a good time when Janeites get together!!

Love you all and Keep me Posted!

PS: tomorrow night I get to dress up for the launch party of the new magazine! so be expecting news and pictures from that very soon!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0442s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb