Just another day in Paradise!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Somerset » Bath
September 3rd 2008
Published: September 3rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

DreamDreamDream

This is what I will be wearing for the promenade!
Today I had my second day at the centre and loved every minute of it!! We were rearranging the store room and such and then I got to try on my regency costume. It was so much fun to try on the different dresses. Clare, another girl who works in the Centre and I got to be fitted for costumes for a dinner next Thursday. It has been great to work there to see all that they do.

I also had my first Jane Austen class today with Felicity James. We had a wonderful class talking about the beginning of Northanger Abbey. We talked about the open lines and how Austen says
"No one who had ever seen Catherine Morland in her infancy would have supposed her born to be an heroine. Her situation in life, the character of her father and mother, her own person and disposition, were all equally against her."
Catherine may not have been supposed to be a heroine but as Austen later says "if adventures will not befall a young lady in her own village she must seek them abroad"

It has been a wonderful day to say the very least!



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Day wearDay wear
Day wear

this is the indoor version of my outfit!
ClareClare
Clare

This is Clare who works in the Centre with me
Me at the CentreMe at the Centre
Me at the Centre

Me and the statue of Jane outside the Centre


4th September 2008

You look perfect in your outfit, VC--and it's great that your first day of class is behind you now. Thanks for the reminder e-mail -- it's been fun to catch up with the start of your trip. Love, Dr.G
4th September 2008

Great dress!
I am thoroughly enjoying your blog! Have fun! Cindy

Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0285s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb