A weekend away...


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Somerset » Bath
June 16th 2007
Published: June 16th 2007
Edit Blog Post

StonehengeStonehengeStonehenge

Hmmmm, see the fence?
Or, a "mini-break" and Bridget Jones would call it.

After a full week’s work, it was definitely time to get out of London for a while. The destination was Bath, somewhere I have always wanted to go. The first stop on the tour was Stonehenge. Hmm, Adam and I found the whole Stonehenge thing quite confusing. We knew that we were supposed to be amazed and marvel at this world heritage listed prehistoric site, but seriously, are they kidding? I am not going to say anything more for fear of being a disrespectful, but for those of you who have been and marvelled…please explain? Anyway, quite fittingly, after standing on tippy-toes to take a photo over the barbed wire fence, the batteries in our camera died and being in the middle of nowhere - just us, some tourists and the rocks - batteries were hard to find. I wanted to crop the fence out of the photo, but Adam thinks that it adds to the effect.

We decided that there was only one thing to do at a time like this, find a nice English pub and have a chuckle over a quiet ale. We headed south to
Salisbury CathedralSalisbury CathedralSalisbury Cathedral

Note the scary light
a town called Salisbury, a beautiful cathedral city with heaps of nice pubs to choose from. The main attraction in Salisbury is the beautiful gothic style cathedral which was very impressive. We visited at on a stormy night at twilight, when there was a recital going on inside, which added to the mysticism of the place. Being a little uncomfortable around churches at the best of times, I was a little freaked out; especially when Adam took me into what I thought was a nice garden/square, but turned out to be a graveyard. Dinner was at a pub called the Haunch of Venison, the oldest pub in Salisbury, circa 1320. The food and beer was great, but Adam was more fascinated with the décor, namely the remains of a hand lost during a game of cards. The pub is also rumoured to be haunted but the demented player, who is still tormented by the loss of his hand.

I realised on Sunday morning that we were staying just down to road from Wilton House, which for Jane Austen fans (probably just mum), doubled as Pemberley in the recent adaption of Pride and Prejudice. Even though the movie was shite, I still really wanted to see it, but it didn’t open until 10:30am. So, again, I had to peer through the fence while Adam pointed out that if I hadn’t had my little nap the day before, I might have been able to see it. Oh well, we were heading to Bath, which would be more than enough to satisfy my Jane Austen addiction.

It may be hard to believe, but it really is the most beautiful city that I have ever been to. There is something about the Georgian architecture that just really makes it special and I could almost feel the history. I think I was a little over excited…poor Adam. We checked out the Roman Baths and while Adam wandered around, I went to the Jane Austen Centre and then headed to the Assembly Rooms & Costume Museum. I realised as soon as I walked in to the Jane Austen Centre and saw a huge poster of Colin Firth as Mr Darcy hanging on the wall that it would be fabulous. By the time I was finished satisfying my addiction, Adam was still wandering around aimlessly and in desperate need of some food and beer….but he had to
Salisbury CathedralSalisbury CathedralSalisbury Cathedral

Scary grave yard
drive home.

It was a great weekend that ended on a bad note….heading home on a Sunday with the rest of London meant that we encountered quite a bit of traffic. Oh well!




Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

Haunch of VenisonHaunch of Venison
Haunch of Venison

Where the hand is kept.
B&B in WiltonB&B in Wilton
B&B in Wilton

Can't keep the smile off my face...excited to go to Bath.
Wilton HouseWilton House
Wilton House

aka Pemberley
No. 4 Great Pulteney StreetNo. 4 Great Pulteney Street
No. 4 Great Pulteney Street

Jane Austen lived here for a while and eagle eyes Adam spotted it.
Tea RoomTea Room
Tea Room

Assembly Rooms, Bath. How grand.


22nd June 2007

stonehenge is a raute!!(i thnk thats how you spell overrated!!!)
hi guys, i agree stonehenge is sssoooo overrated!! we did the same, u can see as much from the road - and yes the fencing adds character to the photo- we concur!!! go bath, it has to be one of the coolest towns/city in the uk!!!
10th July 2007

Disagree
My lady and I enjoyed ourselves. We paid to get in the gates, that is we were on the other side of the fence. We took an audio guide each and we strolled around at our leisure listening to stories that brought the rocks to life. We snapped a couple of photos too. Next time pay you tight arses.
12th July 2007

Is that you Fec?
Brother, is that you pretending to be Tony Blair?

Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0176s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb