Shrewsbury and travel--6/7


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Shropshire » Shrewsbury
June 10th 2007
Published: August 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Travels as of June 10th


I set out for Shrewsbury fairly early in the morning. I took the train up there and dropped my stuff off at the National Express left luggage facility. The train station is located in the bottom half of a mall. It is called the Darwin Shopping Center after Charles Darwin! I did not know that Shrewsbury was Charles Darwin's birthplace. I did get to see some displays on him and his work though. I only spent a couple of hours in Shrewsbury because there was really only one thing I wanted to see. One of my favorite series of books are the Brother Cadfeal mysteries written by Ellis Peters. The books are set in the 1300's at Shrewsbury Abbey. The remaining parts of the abbey are very much like Ellis Peters described it. Most of the abbey grounds are gone now and replaced by shops and a street, but the main church is still there and still holds services. The Brother Cadfeal books were on sell there...they do get a lot of visitors purely because of the books.

This abbey was also very interesting to me because some of the stones are pink. It gives the abbey a little bit of a different look from the other ones I have visited. Also the abbey has many different architectural details dating from the Romans, Normans, and the Saxons.

After eating lunch at a pub I went back to the train station and headed to Holyhead (port on the coast of Wales).

I have added a map of my travels so far: http://www.travelblog.org/gmaps/map_3ZO.html



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



11th June 2007

Love the map!
All the pictures are great, too, and it's good to read all your adventures. Looks like I may get to see all your brochures and guides around Thanksgiving - wedding probably November 24th. Love you!

Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 17; qc: 68; dbt: 0.0814s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb