Day 7 - Wootten to Charlbury


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Oxfordshire
July 5th 2006
Published: July 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

My BootsMy BootsMy Boots

So this is what happens when your feet get wet and they have washing up liquid on them!

Wednesday 5th July


So some days are good and some days are bad. Today started out definitely bad. Walking through the parkland of Blenheim Palace I lost the trail and ended up going through some really long grass. My boots and socks got soaked so much that they turned into washing machines. What with all the fairy liquid on my feet to prevent blisters they started foaming! See the photos of the foam coming out! Then I sliced my finger whilst buttering my croissants (I think I’m quite an up market rambler really!). Then I had my Indiana Jones moment trying to avoid a large field irrigator that had been positioned over the path. If you had seen me running to avoid the water you would have laughed! Then I fell over, which is never good with a backpack on. Since everything that morning had bought me to my knees I said a prayer and then opened my eyes to the beauty and sound of the countryside and stopped worrying about everything! The day then got better despite going up and down a few hills and a thunder cloud ominously rumbling behind me. Just as the rain broke I entered a
Blenheim PalaceBlenheim PalaceBlenheim Palace

Well its down there somewhere!
tree covered pathway that took me the last mile to Charlbury without getting wet at all! Another lovely little village and B&B to laze around in for the rest of the day - as my Dad said “You must be having the time of your life!”

Todays Stats
Start Time - 5:45am
End Time - 10am
Miles today - 6.63 miles
Miles Cumulative - 62.06 miles
Steps Today - 9,927
Steps Cumulative - 133,181
Blisters - 3
Chocolate/Granary Bars - 0
Rain - 45 mins
Temp @ Noon - 28c



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

IrrigatorIrrigator
Irrigator

This was pumping water right over the path but it was no match for Indiana Helen!


11th July 2006

Keep on movin

Tot: 0.122s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 56; dbt: 0.071s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb