Oxford


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Oxfordshire » Oxford
March 26th 2009
Published: March 26th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Ok boys and girls,

I got to escape the pub once again and this time I decided to travel to Oxford cause all my new friends at the pub said I would love it...and they were right. First I had to catch the bus into the lovely Aylesbury then get onto a doubledecker to oxford...yes I did the touristy thing and sat up top and listened to my music as I watched the scenery. It travelled through Haddensham, Wheatley and Thame. finally arrived an hour later and the first thing I decided to do was get lost in town (best way to discover things) by the time I found the tourist info I already knew what I wanted to do but I decided to buy the tourist guide yes that's right the cheap bastards charged me 50p for a brochure on Oxford and shock horror it had nothing in it I didn't already know.

Well anyway by this stage I was starving so you think I could find a single place that wasn't a)a pub or b)a stupid sandwhich shop. I didn't want a pub casue I was saving that for dinner and I obviously can't eat sandwhiches due to being gluten/dairy intolerant. Finally found a cafe and sat down and ordered some chicken thing with a mushroom sauce as I was chatting to my dad on the phone they delivered my lunch with a cream sauce on it and 2 pieces of mushroom chunks....stupid fools mushroom sauce means made with mushroom not with mushroom pieces and you should list if it's creamy mushroom so I had to scrape my lunch before I could eat it. anyway that is my angry rant for the day. Moving on...

After lunch I walked around a bit more and stumbled on "museum of the history of science" They had a display on the telescope. It was actually fascinating. I then walked around a had a look at the Bodleian Library and they had a display on the history of church choirs which was boring but I looked at anyway. Then I had a look from the outside at the Sheldonian Theatre and The Radcliffe Camera (the round library that only Oxford students can use)

I then walked back to the centre of town and went up carfax tower and had look over Oxford. All I can say is the architecture in Oxford is amazing. There wasn't a single ugly building. I walked around a bit and had a look at the outside of the Oxford houses (where students live) but none were open to the public that day that I could find and my stupid 50p brochure didn't have details. By this stage I had walked down to Christ Church. This is a big school where Lewis Carroll went to as a student and also taught at. It was where he also was inspired and wrote Alice in wonderland (as you all know my lil sisters name is Alice so I was very excited with this news) Here at Christ Church I looked around the dining hall which was where the Harry Potter Movies got their inspiration for the dining room scenes and the Church and the gardens. It was absolutely lovely.

I then went back into town and looked around the covered markets which was nice but nothing too special there. I went into the musuem of Oxford and walked in and out straight away it was very tacky and boring. The last thing on my tourist agenda the one thing I really was looking forward to was Bates Collection of Msical Instruments. Well that was the biggest let down ever. I walked up to the buliding and pressed the buzzer and was allowed in and walked in to the main room and got a lecture from the old guy saying try not to knock anything with ur handbag, I then walked around quickly and wanted to leave straight away as it was literally just musical instruments stacked in cabintes with no information wat so ever. Just some guys collection. I then went into a 4 story bookstore (don't stress didn't buy anything but was very hard) and had the biggest mocha I have ever seen.

My next stop was dinner and I found a pub which is part of the great English Classic pubs and had a nice steak. I then caught the buses home. I had a great day in Oxford and loved it. Enjoy the photos once I have the chance to upload them.


Additional photos below
Photos: 49, Displayed: 25


Advertisement

Oxford Street SignsOxford Street Signs
Oxford Street Signs

Tourist Signs


Tot: 0.132s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.1038s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb